Quiddity

January 24, 2014 at 6:24 PM 1 comment

I learnt a new word today, reading a blog from the British Museum by Peter Sheppard Skӕrved – quiddity! It apparently means ‘thingness’ which is a wonderful concept as well. I do like it when I encounter a new word to add to my collection of obscure and interesting ones. Especially if I like both the sound and the meaning.

I like it so much it is now officially my Word of the Year and I shall endeavour to use it at any available opportunity.

The question is, do I like it enough to oust my previous favourite word from its top spot? Time will tell, but it would be quite an achievement as I am very fond of the word farctate.

Entry filed under: Writing. Tags: , .

Void poem HSF Challenge 2: Innovation

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. witness2fashion  |  January 28, 2014 at 1:09 AM

    Thank you for the new words. I will be sharing farctate with my favorite 12 year old boy. Quiddity reminds me of my very-long-ago philosophy classes in which we discussed what Auberon Waugh called This “is-ness business.” Perhaps someday I will get a chance to use quiddity in a Scrabble game!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2014
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Recent Posts


