Void poem

January 23, 2014 at 10:54 PM 8 comments

I wrote a poem about how it feels to have no energy. This is not how I feel all the time, but when I say I have energy level issues, I hope this goes some way to explaining that I don’t just mean I get a bit tired. It’s a bit depressing, sorry. I may have said before that I don’t like writing about my condition and prefer to keep upbeat, but I wrote this today, based on how I felt a few days ago and I thought I’d share it.

Void

I lie on the bed
Weighed down by a leaden duvet
Glued to the mattress
Immobile, but not resting.

Limbs too heavy to lift
As if they are rooted
Or melding with the surface
Like rotting logs

Heavy, saturated, soggy
Disintegrating fibres
Too weak to hold together,
Dissolving mush.

My frantic brain
Scurries around
Like a mouse hiding in a skull
Desperately seeking answers.

Did I do too much?
Am I stressed?
Did I eat the wrong thing?
Why am I like this?

Or worse, the mouse too
Lies stiff on its side
A twitching foot
The only sign of life.

(c) Annette Jones (you have my permission to share as long as I am acknowledged as author)

Normal service will resume in the next post, which will probably be about Victorian knitting! I hope this doesn’t put you off my blog🙂 I don’t want to come across as whiny, but some of my readers have health issues too and sometimes it is good to know you’re not alone.

Entry filed under: Health. Tags: .

HSF Challenge 1 Quiddity

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. timthepoet  |  January 24, 2014 at 7:43 AM

    It’s lovely. You don’t come across as whiny at all.

    Reply
    • 2. knotrune  |  January 24, 2014 at 7:15 PM

      Particularly nice to know my husband doesn’t think I’m too whiny!😉

      Reply
  • 3. Lilian  |  January 24, 2014 at 2:24 PM

    Not at all whiny. It is helpful to know you’re not alone.

    Reply
    • 4. knotrune  |  January 24, 2014 at 7:15 PM

      Thanks. It can be hard to know when you’re being whiny🙂

      Reply
  • 5. Alyssa  |  January 24, 2014 at 6:16 PM

    I felt like this today. Woke up, all my energy was gone. Said “Nope…” and went back to sleep. Had horrible dreams, but I woke up 14 hours after I first fell asleep and now I feel ok. You never know what you need…

    Reply
    • 6. knotrune  |  January 24, 2014 at 7:14 PM

      You must have needed that. Sleep is great if you have good dreams, but not so much fun with horrible ones😦 but at least you feel better for it. My worst day, 20 odd years ago, was being awake for just one hour and 3 hours the next day, but my sleep is a lot more normal now. Except when the cat wakes me in the night for cuddles😀

      Reply
  • 7. jannatwrites  |  February 4, 2014 at 6:52 PM

    I hope your days like this are few.

    This poem makes me wonder if that’s how my husband feels sometimes. He’s on thyroid meds and when he forgets to take a dose, he can barely get out of bed to use the restroom. I’ve been tired, but never that exhausted.

    Reply
    • 8. knotrune  |  February 4, 2014 at 8:02 PM

      Fortunately they are few, and it doesn’t last all day either quite this bad! It’s not a natural kind of tired. I think it would be hard for a healthy person to replicate this kind of no energy without resorting to chemicals:/

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2014
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Recent Posts


