Waiting to get Well

January 30, 2013 at 4:01 PM 4 comments

I often feel as if I spend my whole life waiting to get well from something or other.

Not the arthritis, I know that won’t go away for waiting, although I sometimes have to wait out a flare up. Not just the anxiety either, although waiting has been more successful there, as it is less bad than it was.

I just seem to be very run down at the moment. I am on my third cold of the winter and although that might be the average, I usually have fewer, one of the benefits of not getting out much and not having children. I do seem to catch them from my husband though, who gets out a bit more than me…

I suppose it is inevitable that I will be feeling run down. Having a long term medical problem like arthritis is hardly a recipe for general health and well being. I just deleted a boring rant about how hard it can be to exercise, I doubt anyone wants to read it and I don’t actually even want to write about it! Also mood is so vital to health and recovering from anxiety combined with having to give up a long term ambition like my PhD is not helping.

But sitting in bed moping and whining is not going to solve the problem!

Not all things come to those who wait.

OK so I shall never be what one might call healthy, but I do try to not be the most unhealthy I can be. I tried giving up and I got fat which was even worse. It was hard to shift that back down to somewhere between slightly overweight and the wobbly side of average. But once I had managed that, no more weight seems to have come off, even with my experiments into semi-fasting (which I got fed up with, although I usually skip lunch these days).

I had wanted to focus on writing the novel once my PhD was not going to happen. I have been working on it, but I have this nasty habit of convoluting my plots to the point where they can seem too complicated to ever get straight, plus they always need research which can be a lot of fun but can also throw curve balls. (Ingibiorg, I’m talking about you!)

Why did I think that a treasure hunt whose trail was laid in the 12th century and was partially followed in the 19th before my modern characters have a go at it would be a suitable first novel? I have three plots to keep straight as well as setting the clues!

So now I am wondering whether it would be sensible to take a month out from having the novel as my main focus and make my health the primary target in February? I can only have one at a time as my energy is so limited (if you have never read the spoons article it is a very clear explanation of the kind of choices people with very little energy have to make) and improving my health would benefit every area of my life. It’s just less fun than playing with pretend people🙂

I’m sitting here feeling glad I decided to wash my hair and write a blog post about this rather than go for a walk though as it is totally chucking it down with rain! (For once the forecast was worth checking before going out) After all, it’s not February yet.

I would need to increase my exercise as much as I can physically manage (which is not a lot, but probably a bit more than now) for example starting to go swimming again. I would also need to try to improve my diet, which is not terrible but could be better. I can still think about the novel plot and do some research, but if I have a choice between going out or lying in bed writing on the laptop, I would go out.

But just thinking and writing about this is making me feel tired… hibernating seems quite an attractive option…

What do you think? Should I take a month to spend all my available energy on trying to improve my health? Or am I just making excuses and I should knuckle down and write the darn novel?🙂

Entry filed under: Health, Writing. Tags: .

Parasol Addiction Balance

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andra Watkins  |  January 30, 2013 at 11:18 PM

    I’ve found that a good, brisk walk every day helps my writing process. For what it’s worth.

    Reply
  • 2. Alyssa  |  January 31, 2013 at 5:13 PM

    I want to increase my exercise too. I’ve decreed that I cannot read unless it’s at the gym while walking on the treadmill. It worked well with my last book, but not so well with this one… I should go today and do it.

    Reply
  • 3. I'd Rather Be In Iceland  |  January 31, 2013 at 6:53 PM

    I think you can do both – I agree with what Andrea says.

    Reply
  • 4. rthde/Kevin Freeman  |  May 10, 2013 at 11:40 PM

    Sorry that I have not been following blogs in the last year. As you know the pain gets into the mind and causes all kinds of distractions. Hang in there and keep doing whatever keeps you busy and occupied. Trying to figure out something to do to keep my mind off the pain. Hard to do when you are used to hard labor and now cannot walk 50 feet without writhing in pain and looking for a place to rest. Let me know when you get your book finished, need reading material all the time🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2013
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Recent Posts


