Cat tail moustache

February 12, 2012 at 4:35 PM 8 comments

I had a cold last week. Not a particularly bad one, but I had no energy for a few days. Pebble was happy to find me resting in bed so much and decided that what I needed was some facial hair, so she lent me her tail🙂

Actually it's more of a goatee...

I love the way the tip of her tail curls round like that. Do you think it’ll catch on? Probably not, due to the necessity to carry around the cat, and more problematically, for the cat to co-operate… Still, it was very kind of her🙂 and certainly cheered me up!

I did manage to get out in the snow before having to take to my bed (possibly contributing to needing a rest, although we didn’t get far, walking in snow uses different muscles and is a bit more tiring than normal walking. I hate having arthritis, it makes me feel pathetic :() But the snow was beautiful🙂 and I was just glad to be able to still enjoy it at all.

Pretty snow🙂

On Thursday I felt better enough that we could venture out again, to a little local town where we visited a couple of charity shops and had a fantastic lunch. Smoked salmon and cream cheese hot panini and Italian hot chocolate so thick I ate it with a spoon😀 Sorry, no photos, too busy eating…

We also called in to a fabric shop along the way where I may or may not have bought a few things. OK, I did buy a few things🙂 and they are nice things. I have used one already and begun playing with others.

On Friday I chopped up a charity shop skirt with a stain and made a short skirt from it, with enough over for a matching cape. But I haven’t finished the photos for the skirt so I might wait until I’ve made the cape too before I post it. Yesterday I began a new crochet project, using some yarn I had and a ball I bought from the fabric shop, it’s going well. I like to have a crochet project on the go and miss it when I haven’t. I’ve hardly done any this year so far, only one hat, a top and a few flowers. I don’t have photos of those yet either.

Today I did something a little bit mad, but not very. I added what I believe is called a ‘pop of colour’ to my den.

Orange pop. Sunshine🙂

I think it really cheers up that corner, which is one I look at a lot. Oh yes, do you like my purple Gorm shelf unit? That’s just the top, but that adds another pop. An extra cool thing about the Gorm which I hadn’t realised when I chose it is that it has lots of extra drill holes – perfect for adding hooks or knobs to hang things from! It’s not sorted yet, the boxes are just shoved on to clear space. I need to organise it properly next month, but this month is for playing being creative!

The green bottle was my present to myself as a reward for a successful HBP month. I intend to get more glass for the windowsills as I love how it looks with light shining through it. This one was £5 from another charity shop, a bit of a stretch since I got it home and noticed it’s wonky… but it all adds character and I love the colour and shape! I have a turquoise one it usually sits with, I just moved it for the photo as it also looks great with the orange.

My window before the snow

The mini greenhouse thing is from Ikea, I love it! Not sure if that’s really a great place to store yarn unless I’m sure it’s colourfast, but it won’t take any harm for a few winter weeks and it looks nice. Or it will when I get round to taking off the plastic coating…

The runic glass is also from Ikea, from years ago. I suppose it is supposed to say Runa (Swedish for runes) but they used the wrong rune first. I see why they did it: as well as an ‘r’ rune, there is a rune designated ‘R’, but it is sometimes called ‘z’ and is only found at the end of words, not the beginning. Learning how to pronounce this mysterious rune was one of the highlights of my runic studies at Oslo university. If you can make a rolled ‘r’, you do that at the same time as the sound ‘zh’, a voiced ‘sh’, like the sound in ‘pleasure’. Are you making the sound now? I am🙂

So that’s what I’ve been up to lately.

Except I missed the stuff out where I got stressed and anxious about silly things and had problems. But that’s not fun to write about and probably not to read about either, so I’ll skip that.

I’m off to look more at my orange pop before all the light goes!

Entry filed under: Hobbies. Tags: .

Creative February Project – T-shirt alteration

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. hmunro  |  February 13, 2012 at 12:07 PM

    LOVE the cat goatee! Though — no offense intended — I don’t think it’ll catch on. It’s hard enough to choose the right accessories for an outfit as it is, let alone choosing a cat that complements one’s wardrobe. 🙂 Seriously, though … hope you’re on the mend, and rid of the cold!

    Reply
    • 2. knotrune  |  February 13, 2012 at 5:34 PM

      Well I’ve only got the one cat, so it would be more a case of co-ordinating the outfit to match the cat… Tweed works well with tabby🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Andra Watkins  |  February 14, 2012 at 10:38 AM

    Love the cat.🙂 hope you are all recovered.

    Reply
  • 4. JannatWrites  |  February 15, 2012 at 4:14 AM

    Why do cats always put their tails in our faces? I don’t know how you could stay still with that tail under your nose…I’m impressed!

    Reply
  • 5. nyrahs  |  February 20, 2012 at 2:24 PM

    Aww… a cat is really good for curing a cold too😉

    Reply
    • 6. knotrune  |  February 21, 2012 at 11:21 AM

      Cat cuddles are the best medicine for many ills🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Perfecting Motherhood  |  February 25, 2012 at 5:59 AM

    My cat sits his butt on my face while I’m trying to fall asleep and then bites me when I push him off. So consider yourself lucky your cat only shares the tail!

    Reply
  • 8. corisel  |  March 3, 2012 at 4:15 AM

    I just love your writing, so I’ve nominated you for the Liebster award. There is no obligation to accept it – I just wanted you to know I enjoy your blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  

Recent Posts


