Creative February Project – T-shirt alteration

February 4, 2012 at 5:11 PM 4 comments

I have been having fun with Creative February so far – it’s even distracted me from my cold🙂

Although I made something yesterday which I am pleased with, I haven’t taken photos yet, but I did take some as I went today, so I shall post out of order. That’s more creativity!

I have been collecting projects on Pinterest that I want to try out, among other things… *cough*addictive*cough* and today has been about modifying t-shirts. When I was a teenager, t-shirts were big, baggy, square and really unflattering. For example:

OK so it's draped over the sofa, but is this thing wider than it is long?

I love the colours and the Celtic pattern, and retro is cool again, so this one is crying out to be tweaked. There are loads of possibilities for t-shirt projects on Pinterest, but for this one I was inspired with this pin, from this blog post. However, I like to do things the easy way and take shortcuts and find my own path based on inspiration rather than following precise instructions. So this is how I did it.

The mad thing is, I was thinner when I used to wear this!

Obviously you need to turn the t-shirt inside out unless you want a ruffle hem. First place a t-shirt that fits over the big one. Place it centrally, based on the neckhole and smooth it out.

I turned up the corners to the point I wanted to stop sewing for the waist. This was based on a previous attempt on a different t-shirt where I sewed the whole way down but then went and unpicked that part because it was too tight and emphasised my bulgy tummy, which I prefer to conceal!

I turned up the corners

I should have been working on a table really, not my sofa, but I am so bored with trying to clear stuff away that once I had room for the sewing machine I just left it! Don’t fret, I’ll get to it. You can see I don’t have this quite central. I did figure it out and put it right, but I don’t have a pic of that.

My next step was to pin. I don’t usually pin, but it had to be done really, plus I wanted to try out my new pins! Having decided to add sewing to art journalling in Creative February, I bought some pins the other day, nice ones with big round heads because I don’t like fiddling about with the other ones. Not being much of a one for pins (other than Pinterest ones!) I considered why and realised it was partly that I find them fiddly and thus am more likely to ouch myself. Also my arthritic fingers are less dextrous than they used to be. Also I like to sew freestyle without having to stop and take them out, but sometimes you really do need them, like here.

I pinned the lines I wanted to sew.

The pins don’t show up too well here, but you can see my new pin wheel🙂 (Edit – I forgot to explain how I got the line, silly me! It’s basically being guided by the t-shirt that fits, pulling it to stretch it and generally not wanting to make the fit too tight, that’s why the line does not follow the guide closely. The line I sewed pretty much began and ended at the end of the relevant pin.)

Here is a closer shot of the pin line:

3 pins to show the curve.

I like the pins, they are indeed easier to use than my old ones. Next step is to sew those two lines. I did this really roughly, being careful to get the line right but not bothering to start and finish neatly or securely, in case I wanted to adjust it. I do love casual sewing🙂

Can you see the sewn lines?

Then it’s just a matter of turning it inside out

Now it has some shape!

And trying it on!

Not the best picture, poor light, but it looks quite nice now🙂

I like the effect at the waist.

And now I'm glad I started with such a wide t-shirt!

The width really comes into its own now, being flatteringly loose over the bulgy bits, but not concealing the good bits of my figure😀

This was the third one I made! Plus I made another into a bag, but I shall share that another day🙂 It makes me glad I saved all those old t-shirts, which is just as well. I knew I’d get round to doing something with them one day!

In other news, the snow finally arrived. Not a lot, but it looks pretty.

How’s your February so far?

Entry filed under: Hobbies. Tags: .

Behind with blog, but not with life :) Cat tail moustache

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. corisel  |  February 5, 2012 at 1:36 AM

    Wow! It’s so much more flattering and funky now. Well done!

    Reply
  • 2. Andra Watkins  |  February 5, 2012 at 4:40 AM

    I remember seeing that project on Pinterest. Yours turned out super.

    February for me is a blur of household projects. They will end mid-month.🙂

    Reply
  • 3. jannatwrites  |  February 6, 2012 at 4:35 AM

    I love it! I have had boxy t-shirts like that and they make me feel frumpy. I have one right now for Scouts that I should try that on…they said the shirts ran small, so I ordered a large. They lied🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Laura  |  February 6, 2012 at 2:32 PM

    That’s really clever! I’ve seen refashions where the whole t-shirt has been taken in, but like you, that causes me problems at my tummy and hips. Leaving the fullness lower down looks really good and nicely fitting🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829  

Recent Posts


