Heat and biting flies!

June 27, 2011 at 11:13 PM 4 comments

It’s hot here. Probably not as hot as in hot places, but hot for us. So we waited for the cool of the evening to go for a pleasant stroll round the lake followed by sitting on a bench enjoying the peaceful view. This seemed like a good plan.

And it was a good plan, until the last quarter of the walk, when a fly started to annoy me.

I was sure it was following me.

I brushed it off and did the fly avoiding dance. You know the one, it involves a lot of arm flapping. And then hurried off, but it was still there.

It was fairly big and brown. Not huge or particularly scary, just annoying. I dislike bugs.

Then it seemed to go away for a while, but it hadn’t, I just couldn’t see it. In fact, it must have found my leg, because the next thing I know I felt a sharp nip on my left shin!

Not especially bad, but I hadn’t known the wretched thing was a biter. No wonder it had been following me. I was dinner!

And no sooner had I brushed it off than I felt another nip in my other leg and there were two of its mates!! Horrible things. So our relaxing stroll became a race where I had to escape from these evil villains. I’m not a fast mover, because of the arthritis, but I tell you, I haven’t shifted that fast for 3 years!

At least with the heat, my joints seem to work better.

But having worked up a sweat fleeing from the enemy and also no longer feeling it would be safe to sit and enjoy the scenery within their territory, we went home and ate ice cream instead.

Do the calories out from 20 minutes of gentle strolling + 2 minutes of feverish fleeing = calories in from 1 Mars ice cream bar? Probably not, but I don’t care😀

I think it was a horse-fly. Apparently, the female needs a blood meal to reproduce, and they lay their eggs by water. The pictures look plausible. There are 30 species in Britain. Yuk!

A horse-fly, by Dennis Ray, Wikimedia commons.

Entry filed under: Outings. Tags: .

I made a felted slipper! Second slipper!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sterlingsop  |  June 28, 2011 at 5:34 PM

    I nominated you for my Blog Lovin’ Award because I love reading your blog and wanted to acknowledge that fact to the rest of the blogsphere.

    I hope you want to take part and pass the award onto 15 of your own favourite blogs too. Thank you for enriching my blogging experience and for widening my circle of online friends.

    As for bugs, yup, same here. I always seem to be dinner for midges too. The best product I have found is Avon’s Skin So Soft – which technically is a moisturiser, but is an extremely effective insect repellent too. I heard about it when I was camping in Scotland a couple of years ago at the height of the midgy season. The campsite owner told me that the British Army swear by it!! If it’s good enough for them then it’s good enough for me🙂

    Reply
    • 2. knotrune  |  June 28, 2011 at 7:23 PM

      Thanks🙂 I’ve not heard of that product – I was just thinking I should eat more garlic! Maybe I should get some and have soft but unappetising legs😀

      Reply
  • 3. therealsharon  |  June 29, 2011 at 3:06 AM

    I didn’t know flies bite, yikes! I am also a bug hater! Yuck!

    Reply
  • 4. Perfecting Motherhood  |  June 29, 2011 at 5:33 PM

    Yep, some flies can bite and it really hurts!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Recent Posts


