I am a Wombat

June 20, 2011 at 8:27 PM 1 comment

Wombat (from Wikipedia, PanBK)

This is me. Metaphorically of course.

And why am I a wombat? Because for nearly 4 years I have been labouring under the misapprehension that I did all my washing at 30 degrees C. I now discover that this is not in fact the case, so I am not as eco friendly as I thought I was😦

I think I know how it happened. I read the manual when we got the machine and worked out what setting I wanted to use for the general washing (at 30 degrees C). Thinking about it now, it is entirely possible, even likely, that the setting I chose had 30 degrees C as an option, but that that its standard setting was in fact 40 degrees C. Such that I would need to specifically choose 30 every time. Which I haven’t been doing.

The reason I came to discover this was because I wanted to do some more felting. In fact, this time I wanted to wash at 40 degrees C! So I made sure all the clothes were happy at that temperature and went to set the machine, to work out how to change my usual setting to 40. Only to discover my usual setting was 40! I was really annoyed with myself!

I wanted this load to be different to the first! It actually only matters for one of the samples, so I switched that for redoing the one I did last time and it should be OK. But now I need to do a load at 60…

Husband is very happy about this new branch of my hobby! In the interests of being eco friendly of course I do not do the washing as frequently as some wives, which he sometimes finds annoying. So he is all in favour of a hobby which makes me want to do extra washing! Even if it means buying more yarn…😀

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

My plate Trying to live with anxiety

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Perfecting Motherhood  |  June 23, 2011 at 6:16 AM

    Well, good for you to check your water temperature and help the environment (and save some electricity). I wash most of my colors is barely warm water, or even cold, and it works just fine.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Recent Posts


