Not a fan of naps

May 29, 2011 at 10:56 PM 3 comments

My stance on naps may seem a tad controversial, but I’m not really a fan. I much prefer to get a decent night’s sleep and feel awake and alert all day, ready for sleep again at bedtime. That is right and natural and it can happen if you manage to get enough sleep at night.

I harbour sneaky suspicions than most nappers are just not getting enough sleep at night.

But sometimes this happens despite your best efforts. Or you feel a bit ill. Or you’ve been overdoing things.

Now sometimes I have managed an acceptable nap. OK so it’s annoying to lose a bit of awake time, but if I needed it then so be it. I wouldn’t mind so much if it left me refreshed and feeling better, which is after all the purported purpose of said activity!

But I seem to wake from naps groggy. Today is a case in point. I suddenly felt tired after my small lunch of apple juice and cheese (I know, I have issues with lunch!) Not just a bit tired, but the kind where you just think ‘oh, I’ll just lie back and rest my eyes for a moment’ and the next think you know something half woke you up and you crack an eye open and realise you just totally lost half an hour and what’s more you feel like an empty sack. You shut your eye and hope it will go away (the feeling, not the eye! ewww!) but you can neither fall back to sleep nor fully wake up.

It was fully 40 minutes before I felt my brain had managed to achieve any kind of focus. And I felt fuzzy and a bit queasy for the rest of the day (still do and it’s now nearly bed time). I hope I get a good eight or nine undisturbed hours tonight and wake up fresh and energised not feeling too bad.

I’d probably have felt just as bad or possibly worse without the nap, so maybe it’s a trifle unfair to blame naps. (Mmmm, trifle…) But I prefer days when I don’t need them!

Are you a nap fan? Do you nap or not? Do you call a small sleep in the middle of the day a nap or something else?

Unlike me, Pebble is a big fan of naps!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Old slides A Norwegian bear

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jannatwrites  |  May 30, 2011 at 12:50 AM

    I cracked up when I saw your kitty – the stretched-out sleeping position looks all too familiary. My cats also love their naps, too and go between curled up in a tight ball to stretched out to maximum length.

    I am not a fan of naps and only take them when I am not feeling well (usually a migraine.) Even when I’m tired, I can’t get my mind to turn off long enough to sneak in a daytime nap. And I can relate to the ‘fuzzy’ after nap feeling – another reason to tough it out until bedtime!

    Reply
  • 2. Perfecting Motherhood  |  May 30, 2011 at 7:31 AM

    If I get plenty of sleep at night, I can do without a nap and I prefer it because it doesn’t interrupt my day. But when I’m short on sleep and I have the opportunity, I’ll lay down for one hour and feel refreshed, physically and mentally, afterwards. Whatever works for people!

    Reply
  • 3. Caroline  |  May 30, 2011 at 7:43 PM

    Naps are ace! If i could involve them them in my every day working environment like children at infant school i would do. Unfortunately my employer does not see it this way. I think i would be far more productive! What you are failing to understand about the complexity of napping is the time scale anything more than 20 mins but less than 2 hours is rubbish! If i am super tired at work and i mean literally CANT keep my eyes open then i will go and get a power nap on the loo for 5 mins! Works every time! Dont knock naps unless you know what you are talking about!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


