Book Addiction

May 27, 2011 at 10:19 PM 1 comment

I have been in a bookshop a few times without buying any books. Even Scarthin (blog), although that is rare🙂 (for my previous post on Scarthin books the wonderful lovely shop check the outings tag) but not today. Today I bought three books.

One was second hand and cheap. The other two were new, which is a bit of an indulgence, especially as an Amazon order is also winging its way towards me as I type (well, it’s actually probably in a box sitting in a warehouse or a van at this time of night, but you know what I mean :))

But I just couldn’t resist them, which is a bit weird because they are both about knitting and I not only don’t knit, but I have no plans to learn. I only crochet. But one was about Scandinavian knitting, packed with info and design elements I’m sure I can convert to crochet🙂

The other is about Aran knitting, with stuff about the history of it and cable patterns and all sorts of juicy stuff. I love crochet cables, although I haven’t yet got round to the post on them yet. I am about to start an actual project using them, rather than just trial bits though, so maybe when there is enough of that to take a pic of I might post.

In fact that is what I want to be doing right now, rather than writing my blog – either starting my new cable project (just got to finish drawing up the plan!) or reading my new books🙂

I don’t know which shop is harder to leave without a purchase, a book shop or a yarn shop🙂 although the latter is my new addiction this year while bookshops have always been an Aladdin’s cave to me. Mmmm… books…😀

We also had a very nice hot chocolate and some squidgy cake in a flavour I’ve never had before, gooseberry and elderflower, which was yum. But I didn’t take my camera, so no pics.

I regretted the no camera thing when we took a short stroll by the canal, as there were fluffy baby coots with punk hair and also tadpoles.

Anyway, I’m off now to play with cables!

Entry filed under: Hobbies, Outings. Tags: .

Fruit Old slides

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. therealsharon  |  May 28, 2011 at 12:13 AM

    I love books so much! It’s hard for me to go into any store selling books and not buy one…although not having any money most of the time kind of cures that!
    I have tons of unread books just waiting for me to read right at home but it never seems to stop me from adding to my collection!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


