Fruit

May 26, 2011 at 10:19 PM 4 comments

I’m eating a banana right now. It’s just right, yellow with no brown. I prefer them on the green than the brown side of yellow, but the best is the perfect yellow.🙂

Bananas

I eat a banana most days at this time, as I have to take meds at ten pm, a most inconvenient time to have to eat something. The meds have to be taken with food or you risk getting ulcers. It doesn’t have to be a lot of food, a biscuit or even a glass of milk is OK, but I struggle to swallow pills with just thin fluid, it’s much easier with food.

One of the best things about my husband is that he keeps the house stocked with bananas and milk and things like that. When I lived alone it was such a challenge to go to the shops that I had to make sure I had stock of UHT milk and things that keep well, so I used to use biscuits far more often than bananas as I’d run out.

Mmm, that was a perfect banana all the way down! Very rare to find one without a bruise or anything🙂

I like bananas because they aren’t too acidic. I also love berries, the sweet ones not the tart ones. And plums when they are perfectly ripe and juicy. And cherries, mmm…

Recently I discovered how yummy passionfruit is😀 I bought a pack of cubed pineapple in the bargain bit of the supermarket and it had half a passionfruit in too as a bonus, as I’d never tried one, although I like the juice. I will surely get them again, it was gorgeous.

I also have a portion of fruit with my breakfast, 30g of dried chopped fruit in my porridge or muesli, either dates or apricots. Not only is it yummy, but it starts me off with one of my five a day already ticked off.

If you don’t know about five a day, you are supposed to try and get five portions of fruit/veg every day. The portion sizes vary, for example 5cm of cucumber is a portion, but half a lettuce! I can easily eat the cucumber, but I struggle with that much lettuce. So the salad garnish served with a lot of food as a nod to health is hardly worth bothering with, it’s about a tenth of a portion!

200ml of fruit juice counts as a portion, but only once per day no matter how much you have. And they all have to be different – five bananas is still just one portion! A really thick fruit smoothie can be 2 portions as there is more roughage left in it.

Most days I get 5, sometimes more, sometimes less, but rarely fewer than 3.

If you want to know more, there is lots of info on the web, just google it.

What fruit do you love or hate? Have you recently tried a new fruit? If so, was it good?

Entry filed under: Health. Tags: .

Crochet Design-Along Book Addiction

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Perfecting Motherhood  |  May 27, 2011 at 12:48 AM

    You’re right about tasting the just-ripe banana, it’s delicious. My most favorite fruit is cherries – the dark, firm, sweet and juicy ones. Unfortunately they don’t last long. After that, red seedless grapes, mmmmm.

    Reply
  • 2. rthde/Kevin Freeman  |  May 27, 2011 at 2:42 AM

    Green bananas are the best way to eat them. And I ran out yesterday,must be time to go to the store!

    Reply
  • 3. therealsharon  |  May 28, 2011 at 12:10 AM

    My favorite fruit is grapefruit but you’re not supposed to eat them if you have a thyroid disorder because it can throw it off of whack…I still eat them anyways some though….they are just too good!

    Reply
  • 4. Caroline  |  May 28, 2011 at 9:11 AM

    Did you know i’m allergic to bananas? Which is mostinconvenient, because i like them. I always though it was just an odd little me thing. My mouth gets all tingley and somes my lips will swell up, the more ripe the banana the worse it is. So i neverput it down to being actual condition or problem, i just dealt with it and carried on eating bananas. Until one day someone at work said, dont you think you should be concerned if your having this type of allergic reaction. So i googled it and was surprised with what i found out. Check it out! X

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


