Where does inspiration come from?

May 14, 2011 at 10:33 PM 4 comments

When I was younger I liked to imagine that ideas floated around, occasionally bumping into a receptive brain. Maybe the idea did not match the person or came too early, before technology or society was ready for it. But if it suited the person and they used it to write a poem or invent something then that was inspiration!

I was am rather whimsical…🙂

Of course now I know that a large part of inspiration is actually thinking about the thing. And then stopping thinking about it, maybe going for a walk or sleeping. That allows the right brain to mull it over.

But if I am looking for inspiration for a blog post, or a crochet design, or a story or a poem or whatever, I will start by thinking randomly about the thing, wondering what might work, what could be fun, what I can be bothered with, what I can do in the time available…

I might look at a list of ideas I had earlier, or look at pictures. Or I might do other things, with the awareness of what I want to create lurking at the back of my mind, hoping that something will trigger a thought.

This post came from reading a forum comment that someone liked reading about where designers’ ideas came from. I was reading it because I was procrastinating writing this post. Et voila! An idea!

Who said procrastinating was a bad idea?!

Entry filed under: Writing. Tags: .

Blue Blob Post lost to procrastination…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. wdednh  |  May 15, 2011 at 1:48 AM

    still waiting on the angry post you were talking about few days ago?

    Reply
    • 2. knotrune  |  May 15, 2011 at 10:53 AM

      Oh yeah, that. I am putting it off because it upsets me. I do that, especially at the moment, but thanks for the reminder. I’ll get to it, soon…

      Reply
  • 3. Melissa Leavitt  |  May 15, 2011 at 12:54 PM

    Not me! One of my procrastination favorites is looking at other peoples’ designs. I find I imagine how they did it. It is like reverse engineering. So I get to look at pretty pictures of finished objects, imagine knitting such pretty objects and still keep the title of budding designer. 😉

    Hurray for procrastination projects!

    Reply
    • 4. knotrune  |  May 15, 2011 at 10:55 PM

      Yeah, I’ve just been browsing the Ravelry patterns again… when I should be blogging, again…😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


