I hate politics

May 6, 2011 at 10:19 PM 2 comments

I don’t know why I bother. The trouble is I do care, I try not to , but I can’t quite manage to not give a crap. So it annoys me constantly and lets me down all the time.

I have to vote because of the suffragettes. Otherwise I reckon I’d just give in to apathy, after all, my vote almost always loses and the one time it didn’t led to betrayal and massive disappointment, so that’s worse. At least when you vote for the losers you can hate the winners and say bah I never voted for you anyway!

I just really hoped we’d finally get a system where we all get a say. But no, the great British public don’t like change, they are too confused to order their preferences (although they can manage to vote people off stupid reality TV shows – maybe we should change voting to the X-factor system?) or they actually wanted a better PR system and don’t agree with me that this is likely to be the only chance we ever get.

I’d really like to know the reason behind every no vote, but maybe it’s better I don’t or I’d be even more disillusioned. It’s hard to be an optimist sometimes.

I also wish people could manage to understand the difference between local politics and national politics. Vote locally for the person who is most likely to do some good for your area, their party is less important surely? And why does national politics have to have a local element any more? With today’s global communications the need for an MP to have a constituency at all seems a bit of a fossil. Then the national vote should be true PR – the number of MPs would reflect the proportion of the vote of the whole population.

That’s if we have to keep party politics anyway, which I hate. No one party represents all my views. I agree with one on some issues and another on other issues. One I hardly agree with at all. I’d rather see consultation over issues. Maybe not a full referendum, that is obviously a waste of time. But maybe the people stuff affects could vote on it. Like disabled people could vote about issues affecting them, like benefits or access. People with kids get to vote about school issues, that sort of thing.

Or maybe people should have to take some kind of free course educating them on an issue before being allowed to vote on it!

I don’t trust democracy anyway. So why should I care if the no campaign won, with their lies and twistiness?

This story from a Viking saga is a great example of the problems with democracy:

A Viking ship got lost at sea in the fog. The captain asked his crew which way they wanted to go to find land. They pointed to one side of the boat. Then the captain asked the navigator which way he thought they should go. He pointed in the opposite direction.

The captain steered the way the navigator said. They found land. The other way they would have all died.

So politics sucks, democracy sucks and I am disappointed yet again, but no big deal, I’m used to that.

Oh yes, do you know the derivation of the word ‘politics’? It’s from the Ancient Greek ‘poly’ meaning ‘many’ and the Old English ‘ticks’ meaning ‘blood sucking insects’!

(Actually that is not really true and I didn’t even make it up myself, I plagiarised it and I can’t remember who from, but I like it so that’s flattery right? Sorry, I like it too much not to use it even if I can’t provide a reference!)

OK rant over. I’ll try to be more cheerful tomorrow!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Meh What do I want to be when I grow up?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kieran Hamilton  |  May 7, 2011 at 2:50 AM

    They held the referendum for the change to the AV system on the same day as the Holyrood elections in Scotland. I would think it was deliberate but those who hold the majority in the Scottish Parliament were mostly for the AV system, which leads me to the conclusion that its just pure stupidity. There was barely any focus on the referendum in Scotland, if any at all. Unfortunately democracy is the best we have. The story from the Viking saga illustrates a good point, but that assumes that the ones with the better knowledge are working in the interest of the whole, but unfortunately, more often than not, they have their own agenda. Yup gotta love politics.

    Reply
    • 2. knotrune  |  May 7, 2011 at 8:13 PM

      I think they held the referendum on the same day as other elections (local here) for 2 reasons: keep costs down; people who turned up to vote in one also vote in the other so more people actually vote. And yeah, most of them seem to have their own agenda. Also there is too much short term thinking as they only care about getting re-elected. Bah, humbug!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


