I saw a slow worm today!

April 19, 2011 at 9:49 PM 2 comments

I’ve never seen a slow worm before๐Ÿ™‚ I didn’t get a photo because it is not well named and was too fast! It’s not a worm either, or a snake, although it looks like a snake. It is a legless lizard.

We had a lovely day today. With the sunshine and not having much work on we decided to skive this afternoon. First call was the fabric shop in Heage. I wanted some fabric for a project, but I didn’t know they sell yarn as well. Honest! So I couldn’t resist getting just a little bit of yarn too…๐Ÿ™‚

Then we went to the cafe bar in Belper where I had a delicious smoked salmon and cream cheese panini and Tim had a latte. We popped into the charity shop on the off chance they had located the box of Singer sewing machine bits which had been buried when I bought the old sewing machine there a few weeks ago. We didn’t really expect anything to come of it, but they did have it! Cool๐Ÿ™‚ So I have a little rummage tin of goodies to go through. There are bobbins in there, which was the main thing, but also different feet and stuff.

Next we went to the Christian bookshop in Matlock where Tim wanted to get a gift for his Mum.

Finally we had our lovely walk in a wood with bluebells and that’s where we saw the slow worm.

Beautiful bluebell wood.

We also saw some bees doing what they and birds are notorious for! We heard them first, a frenetic high pitched buzzing, and looked on a tree and there they were, going at it enthusiastically!

Bee p0rn!

There is a tree swing along this path, so we nurtured our inner children and took turns.

Swinging in the woods.

Tim was reading his computer magazine… I just enjoyed looking up at the branches.

Looking up.

I took some photos of bluebells.

Bluebell.

It was a gorgeous place for a stroll.

Path through the woods.

The giant wood ants were surprisingly noisy. If we stood still and quiet, we could hear the birds singing, the hum of distant traffic and the ants marching all over the forest floor, chewing! It was so noticeable that I could tell when we went past an ant nest just by the sound. It was almost as loud as a small waterfall. So much for peace and quiet…

Not my favourite critters...

But the slow worm was the highlight! We saw it on the way back. It must have been basking on the path and went rustling off into the bluebells when we came along. But we saw it for long enough to get a sure identification.๐Ÿ™‚

And the views were stunning…

Tim enjoying the lovely views...๐Ÿ˜‰ His magazine was a big help actually, as he usually finds my slow pace and constant pausing for photo opportunities a tad annoying.

Entry filed under: Outings. Tags: .

What is my blog for? Ex-favourite things?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rthde/Kevin Freeman  |  April 20, 2011 at 2:10 AM

    My wife has gotten used to my stopping and following my eye for shots. She usually goes back to the car and rests while I look for things to shoot. Great Shots!!

    Reply
  • 2. kaet  |  April 20, 2011 at 6:46 PM

    Great pictures!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


