What is my blog for?

April 18, 2011 at 10:33 PM 5 comments

Dunno.

That’s the simple answer!

It must have had a point when I started. I even wrote about having an unfocussed blog and tried to find a focus, but it petered out almost immediately.

I don’t know what my purpose is, so why should my blog have one when I don’t?

The WordPress prompt for today asked this question. I doubt I’m the only one to answer with I don’t know!

I probably thought it would get a focus. After all, I was still neck deep in the thesis when I began, so I thought it would be partly an academic blog. I have also been trying to write a novel for quite a long time, and reading more about how to do so, both craft and peripheral stuff, like how useful a blog is for marketing etc. But I haven’t been writing either.

I suppose it’s a way of hanging on to one form of writing even when others are not happening, because of the accountability. I enjoy connecting with my readers🙂 I love getting comments. Maybe it’s even a form of therapy?

I just don’t know.

Do you know what my blog is for? What does it mean to you?

Does it even have to have a purpose?

Entry filed under: Writing. Tags: .

Weekly Photo Challenge: Lines I saw a slow worm today!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sterlingsop  |  April 18, 2011 at 10:37 PM

    I enjoy reading your blog, and as a reader it doesn’t matter to me that you don’t have a focus as such. To be honest I get fed up of reading blogs that have only one focus and find that I get bored of them really quickly, whereas because yours (like mine!) jumps around, and has long posts/short posts/questions/ideas/complaints/moans etc I find it really interesting. You remind me of myself in a lot of ways and it’s nice to “meet” someone else who is as eclectic as myself.

    Keep going!!🙂

    Reply
  • 2. therealsharon  |  April 19, 2011 at 2:28 AM

    I agree with sterling!
    I also can’t really pinpoint one MAIN focus for my blog and I don’t think I would like to, either. We, as people, are so much more than just ONE thing, so why should a blog be just about ONE thing?
    That’s pretty much why I named my blog TheREALSharon….it’s about me and my life, my marriage, my loves/hates, what makes me…maybe the focus is just that…ME!

    Reply
  • 3. Caroline  |  April 19, 2011 at 6:10 AM

    I LOVE reading your blog. I find it interesting and funny and it helps me feel connected to you. It doesnt matter to me that it doesnt have focus, i dont think it really needs it. Short posts, long posts, funny posts, moany posts i enjoy logging on. Keep up the good work🙂 xx

    Reply
  • 4. What is the meaning of this blog? « My Reflecting Pool  |  April 19, 2011 at 8:59 PM

    […] This post was inspired by another blog you should check out – Knotrune. […]

    Reply
  • 5. knotrune  |  April 19, 2011 at 9:51 PM

    Thanks guys! I’ll keep it just as it is then, whatever that turns out to be!😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


