Weekly Photo Challenge: Lines

April 17, 2011 at 10:03 PM 2 comments

Well, I have about fifty trillion pics that would fit well in this category!

This is the one I first thought of before looking through my files:

Pylon

Man made straight lines softened by nature. A return in winter with bare twigs would have given a striking contrast between the harsh straight lines of metal and the fractal branches.

This one also contrasts straight man made metal with chaotic nature in the frosty broken web:

Grids

I like the effect of that one.

It’s not always that way round – her is one where it is nature providing harsh straight lines and sharp points, while the man made wall is rounded:

Spiky

And here are some more round metal lines:

Curly

I’m always looking for lines as they are an important element of photographic composition. As I said, I have loads more, but I shall just leave you with a last one which is a different take on the idea:

Writing lines

Entry filed under: PhotoAWeek. Tags: , , .

Writing What is my blog for?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jannatwrites  |  April 17, 2011 at 11:36 PM

    Wow, did you take these pictures yourself? My favorites are the first one, looking up the tower, and the thorny branches.

    Reply
  • 2. Tony McGurk  |  April 18, 2011 at 8:00 AM

    These are great photos. I really like the thorny branches & the spiderweb on the metal fence

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


