Weekly Photo Challenge: Old

April 14, 2011 at 8:37 PM 3 comments

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I have loads of photos of old stuff!

First up here is my old bear, Mid.

My old bear, Mid, much loved.

Mid is short for Middle Teddy; I had a Big Teddy and a Little Teddy too. Like Goldilocks, I found the middle sized one the most suitable and carried Mid with me everywhere, as you can see. Mid aged rapidly from new to old and now watches me as I gradually catch up…

This tree from the churchyard at Brailsford, Derbyshire, is very old:

Ancient yew tree.

It’s so old it has chain coming out of it!

Chain growing into the yew tree.

The chain looks pretty old too.

But which is older, the tree or this cross shaft?

Brailsford cross shaft

This is a thousand years old and is the base of what would have been a tall stone cross. The little warrior is surely too cute to be a Viking!

Here are some more cute and crazy medieval carvings from Derbyshire, this time inside Wirksworth church. The carvings are much older than the church and were incorporated into the fabric of the church when it was rebuilt.

Crazy medieval carvings.

My favourite is the anteater on acid in the bottom right!

Old stuff certainly isn’t boring!😀

Entry filed under: PhotoAWeek. Tags: , , .

Adminphobia Improvement?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. therealsharon  |  April 15, 2011 at 1:17 AM

    Awesome pics! And of course, being a huge teddy bear fan, I LOVE Mid the bear!

    Reply
  • 2. corisel  |  April 15, 2011 at 5:47 AM

    Wonderful photographs – I find all this old stuff endlessly fascinating. Great post!

    Reply
  • 3. kaet  |  April 16, 2011 at 10:48 PM

    Fabulous pictures!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


