Indecision paralysis

April 12, 2011 at 10:52 PM 4 comments

I get paralysed sometimes by my own indecisiveness. It’s a pain in the posterior! I sat down to write this blog over an hour ago and have only just begun! I couldn’t decide what to blog about.

I read some other blogs. Checked Facebook. Read a couple more blogs, maybe they would inspire me? No, OK, back to FB for a quick game of Scramble. Play with the cat. Laugh at her stringful antics. Stare at the blank New Post page. Scramble again…

Finally I decided I was just fed up of this! I want to get this blog post written so I can move on and go to bed and relax.

I hope that in the process of working through the stress and anxiety issues I can fix some other problems along the way! Such as this one. And my procrastination. And untidiness. And a few others…

Hmm. Oh well, it’ll give me something to blog about I suppose!

It’s not as if I’m short of ideas. Just that most of them require a bit too much effort. Like the weekly photo thing. The theme this week is “old”. I’m a medievalist. I have loads of photos of old stuff! And that’s not to mention old trees, ancient rocks, prehistoric standing stones, my Nana who will be 97 in May etc etc…

I shall just pick a random selection of a few old things I expect. Otherwise I could end up spending a whole day selecting – that indecisiveness again. I often just end up picking a few files, choosing appropriate photos from them and stopping when I have 5 or 6 even if there may be others in other files just as good or better. But I make myself stop. It’s not as if I get paid for it! And who knows if the ones I semi-randomly select are better than the ones I might select if I took nine hours? Or even just the same ones!

So I’m trying to learn when to stop dithering and just do!

What about you? Are you decisive or a ditherer? How do you choose stuff?

Entry filed under: disorganisation. Tags: .

Why speed bumps are bad. Adminphobia

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jackie  |  April 13, 2011 at 1:15 AM

    I don’t know if it’s of any use whatsoever to you, but I find it really helpful to keep a little journal/pad of paper/whatever your preference is and jot things down when they come to me. I don’t necessarily think “oh! blog post!” but I pay attention to things that bother me, things I ponder about, and encounters with people. I don’t end up using half of them, but the half that I do are my only salvation on nights like the one you describe here🙂

    Reply
  • 2. corisel  |  April 13, 2011 at 9:32 AM

    You made me laugh as you described all the different things you did to procrastinate instead of writing your blog. I waste a lot of time being indecisive too, but when a deadline is about to hit I finally just pick any of my options, because there’s no more time to waste and usually it works out fine.

    I’m starting to wonder if it really matters what I choose – its what I do with it that counts. I also wonder if my indecisiveness is just another form of procrastination.

    Reply
    • 3. knotrune  |  April 17, 2011 at 10:16 PM

      I’m pretty sure that dithery indecisiveness is linked strongly with procrastination. If I can’t decide, I sometimes have to put off the task until I have decided. Which can be quite a problem if I have to do that task before others.

      Reply
  • 4. therealsharon  |  April 14, 2011 at 12:47 AM

    Hmmm…I too am a procrastinator and I hate making decisions….I’m extremely indecisive but somehow I just force myself to settle on a topic eventually….most of the time…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


