Why speed bumps are bad.

April 11, 2011 at 11:10 PM 8 comments

OK so there are some roads which are dangerous and not every driver can be trusted, sadly, to behave responsibly and avoid danger for themselves and others. I generally favour encouraging people to be responsible, but if we have to have a nanny state that forces obedience rather than fostering responsibility, please can we at the very least not use a way which hurts me and other people with painful medical conditions, not to mention problems with ambulances?

 

Section of a ashalt speed bump, private road, Adelaide. Taken 4:26pm, 4 February 2005 with a Sony Mavica. Taken by Alex Sims. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Most people who are healthy just don’t realise how painful it can be to drive over those wretched things. Or to be driven over as a passenger. Maybe my car could have better suspension, but why do they have to be so angular that no matter how slowly you drive over them, they still jolt painfully?

I don’t mind the smooth ones so much, but they are becoming rare in favour of increasingly angular ones. They’ll be like kerbs soon!

The irony is that joyriders probably love going over speed bumps very fast. After all, they have stolen the car, they don’t have to care about wrecking its suspension and the bumps are probably quite exciting taken at speed if you’re that sort of person.

The other thing I don’t understand is why they spend money smoothing out potholes and then spend money adding speed bumps. Why not just leave the potholes? They have the same effect as the speed bumps and you’ve saved money twice over!

This is another example of why I don’t like healthy people making all the decisions. They ought to consult people who don’t find life so easy. People who have to live with pain and restrictions, who can’t move so well or have no strength or no energy, people who struggle to cope. People who are too tired or ill to find out where to complain to.

What do you think of speed bumps?

Entry filed under: Health. Tags: .

I am a new creation Indecision paralysis

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. therealsharon  |  April 12, 2011 at 3:09 AM

    I agree with you. Although, I do not suffer with your pain, I can understand how speed bumps could be painful for you and others like you. This is kind of off topic, but as a woman…I find speed bumps annoying because I inherited “curves” from my mom and hitting a bump where you bounce up hard is like OUCH! So I can only imagine how it would affect people with back problems, arthritis, etc. I think they should figure out some kind of alternative.

    Reply
    • 2. knotrune  |  April 12, 2011 at 10:55 AM

      Yes, that too! The worst was after I had a lumpectomy😦

      Reply
  • 3. Perfecting Motherhood  |  April 12, 2011 at 5:30 AM

    The main street I live by has speed bumps every 100 feet. I have back problems and I have to drive slowly over or I’ll cause nerve pain but at least those are large speed bumps so they don’t make you jump off your seat. I can’t complain about them though, they really do their jobs in a residential area with lots of kids. With no speedbumps people would be driving 50mph down the street and kill one of them. I don’t want it to be mine…

    Reply
    • 4. knotrune  |  April 12, 2011 at 10:57 AM

      I do understand this argument, I’m just sure there must be a better way. I was reading about some with a sensor that flatten themselves if you are driving at a safe speed. Trouble is, those are not going to come cheap!

      Reply
  • 5. corisel  |  April 12, 2011 at 7:05 AM

    I had never really thought about them until now. It just never occurred to me that as well as being inconvenient, they might cause pain. Perhaps chicanes are a better solution if we need to have “traffic calming”.

    I liked your point about the nanny state and a better approach might be to foster some responsibility. As you say, the hoons will speed over them anyway.

    Reply
    • 6. knotrune  |  April 12, 2011 at 11:00 AM

      Chicanes are only marginally better, as they cause queues and also some pain and discomfort too. I hate traffic calming! It’s a hue misnomer too, as it is really traffic irritating! I expect we are not too many years off making cars with remote control speed limiters, so it won’t be possible to drive above the speed limit.

      Reply
  • 7. kaet  |  April 12, 2011 at 9:50 AM

    The small ones are really annoying for cyclists too. I don’t have a bike now, but while the large smooth ones were fine the others were not good at all. I actually had to speed up to get over them, so who does that help?

    Reply
  • 8. murraylaidlaw  |  June 21, 2016 at 10:34 AM

    I hate speed bumps, they have had to reduce the height of some near us as they were just too high. There has to be a better way to reduce traffic speed without damaging car suspensions and inflicting more discomfort on anyone suffering from back and associated health problems.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


