I hate animated ads!

April 9, 2011 at 8:06 PM 3 comments

They are very distracting, my eye keeps getting drawn to them, irresistably, like a moth to a flame. But it doesn’t make me want to buy the product. Far from it. For me, they are a big fat fail! I hate them so much that if I were to take note of what they were advertising, my main reaction would be to boycott the product!

Advertisers please take note! If targeting ads, don’t target moving ones at me!

Although targeted advertising can be seen as an invasion of privacy, I would generally prefer it for myself than being bombarded by a whole load of ads for crap I’m never going to buy.

I dislike advertising in general, for moral reasons, as it is designed to engender dissatisfaction and suggest, falsely, that happiness can only be achieved by buying the product.

What I don’t object to is being informed of a new product which I may find helpful, or enjoyable. But don’t lie to me! If your product is crap, I am likely to complain to you, which costs you money!

What is even worse than web ads that move and flicker in the corner of my eye are ones that shout at me. I hate noise. I usually keep my pc muted, but Tim does not. Annoyingly he is getting a bit deaf so he often has the sound up way too loud. If he forgets to turn it back down, as he often does, these noisy ads can really shout at me. It makes me panic! I will close things I was interested in even before looking at them if this happens. That is a massive advertising fail!

I like free stuff and I know that in this commercial world we live in, that often means tolerating ads. OK, I get this, I don’t like it, but I can grit my teeth and bear it.

I would prefer it if they gave me a list of subjects I have any interest in, so I can say yes I would like adverts for craft products, medieval stuff, books, cat stuff, anything Scandinavian, whatever. And a big fat no to anything immoral or that I have no interest in! This would benefit me and them. I would be informed of products I might have some interest in rather than being annoyed by shit and they might just actually sell me something!

If you want to attract my eye in a way which makes it linger on your ad, show me lovely calm pix of trees, waterfalls, pretty scenery, happy animals, yarn, medieval things, piles of books. Stuff I like looking at. And keep them still!

What are your thoughts on advertising?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Post One Hundred! C is for Cat I am a new creation

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. therealsharon  |  April 11, 2011 at 5:05 AM

    I totally agree! Animated ads are just an annoying distraction and noisy ones are too! My husband also leaves the speakers turned up and I have gotten on the computer mainly times and have shot straight up out of my seat when some noise comes from the speakers and scares me!

    Reply
  • 2. kaet  |  April 12, 2011 at 6:58 PM

    I agree too, and like you will shut noisy windows straight away.

    Reply
    • 3. knotrune  |  April 12, 2011 at 9:54 PM

      I wonder if there are people who do find them attractive? Otherwise they ought to die out very quickly!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


