Nostril preference

April 4, 2011 at 11:31 PM 4 comments

Do you prefer to breathe through your left nostril or right? Or do you have no preference?

I hope someone who has a preference comments, because I have never come across anyone else who cared at all!

I have a very strong preference for my left nostril to be clear. If one has to be blocked, I find it more comfortable for it to be the right one. I am not sure why this is, except that my body seems to have a most annoying preference for the left to be blocked if either is. I have lost more sleep over this than anything else!

I know, that’s a bit pathetic to be so obsessed over something so pernickity!

But it seriously bugs me to wake up and find the left one blocked. Occasionally I can fall back to sleep, but more often I have to sit up and clear it. This involves pressing a bit of cold metal to my sinus points or in extreme cases, standing up and applying a cold flannel. Or taking an antihistamine!

Gravity has some effect, but less than it should. Because of the effect it does have, I sleep far more on my right side than my left, which makes my right shoulder very painful. Sometimes the shoulder, neck and squashed ear mean I can’t lie on my right side any more, which means that if the nostril won’t clear when that happens there is no chance of sleep and I have to sit up and read.

It has happened more than once that I am just about to drop off, lying on my right side, when whooosh! all the mucus on the right side of nasal passages is sucked up into the left half, totally preventing me falling asleep. This really bugs me as I find it hard to transition, both falling asleep and waking up are problematic.

I’ve tried nasal strips, they just annoy me and don’t really help. Maybe if you could get them for just one side of the nose…

I wouldn’t mention it, but I was sitting here, staring at the Add New Post page in a blank lack of inspiration when I noticed that my left nose was getting stuffy. I tilted my head and decided to post about it. As well as providing a post, you never know, I might just discover that I am not alone!

I did find this article about laterality which mentions it, which was slightly reassuring, although it doesn’t help solve the problem. It’s quite interesting anyway if you feel like reading something slightly bizarre.

So, if you have a nostril preference, please, pretty please leave me a comment😀 Or even if you have ever heard of anyone else with such a thing!

Even if you don’t, feel free to leave one saying you think I’m barking! Woof!😉 Or tell about some weird preference you have that you think might be unique🙂

Entry filed under: Health. Tags: , .

Mothers’ Day visit Redesigning annoying things

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. astrawally  |  April 4, 2011 at 11:55 PM

    To be honest I have never really noticed but after reading this and checking I have just found out that my left nostril is working much better than the right. I seem to breath through it a lot easier than my right. As for a solution to your problem I’m afraid I have none but I will keep and eye/ear and nose out for one.
    Much Love
    Astra Wally

    Reply
  • 2. therealsharon  |  April 5, 2011 at 1:52 AM

    I have never thought about whether I have a right or left nostril preference honestly…If I had to pick, I would probably say my preference would be the right one only because I seem to prefer the right side for everything else. But that could just because I am right handed so I use the right side of my body more than the left…Are you left handed?

    Reply
    • 3. knotrune  |  April 5, 2011 at 10:39 AM

      No, to add to my weirdness in this, I am right handed🙂 which might explain why my body seems to favour breathing through the right nostril! I suppose it could be a reaction to having noticed this tendency and a subconscious desire to ‘correct’ the bias?

      Reply
  • 4. callydcfc  |  April 7, 2011 at 11:15 PM

    People only breathe through one nostril at a time and it changes every twenty minutes or so.

    At last a use for that useless fact.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


