Some of what I have crocheted

April 2, 2011 at 9:43 PM 7 comments

So here is an update of some of the things I have made since I started to crochet.

My first scarf.

This was made with a rather fluffy chunky acrylic yarn, which kept catching on the 6mm hook, so I did this looser effect using a 9mm hook. It is very fast to make. This was one ball of yarn and I was going to add more to make it longer, except I found I rather liked it short, it is more practical under a jacket.

I also used the 9mm hook to make this hat, but as this is a super chunky yarn the stitches are much tighter.

My second hat (I think, I'm losing count!)

I then got hold of some fancy fluffy yarn which works very well combined with a strand of DK. This one is again using the 9mm hook. The first photo is without flash, the second is a close up using flash, so the colours look a bit different.

My second scarf, without flash.

Close up of blue green fluff with flash.

Having enjoyed the 9mm so much I bought a massive 15mm hook and had a go at another colour of fluff, this time red, combined with a black DK. This worked up even faster๐Ÿ™‚

Red fluffy scarf.

Red fluffy yarn with scarf.

Red fluff close up with flash.

I don’t think the photos do it justice, it is actually rather nice and drapes well.

Finally here is the daffodil I mentioned in an earlier post, along with another flower.

Two crocheted flowers.

The daffodil must have taken at least as long as a scarf, if not longer! It was fiddly, but very satisfying and I was pleased with the result. I made it for my Mum for Mothers’ Day and sewed a brooch fastening to the back so she can wear it๐Ÿ™‚ She loves daffs anyway, I hope she likes it!

I learned 3 new stitches making the daff. The petals start with an American triple, which I failed to notice until I had automatically done an English triple, even though it was followed by my first new stitch, which was described in the pattern as a double triple (English treble triple). Of course I realised before I had gone too far and unpicked. It was easy enough to work out how to do the English double triple I should have done.

I don’t find the difference in terminology a huge issue, but if tired it’s easy to make a mistake like that๐Ÿ™‚ Then the points on the petals are picot, another new stitch for me, and one I had to look up on the web. I think they worked OK anyway. It’s nice to make something as a special personal gift๐Ÿ™‚

This is not all I have made now, but the latest was a Top Secret Project. I bought the yarn on Thursday and finished the first prototype this morning. The garment was not an unmitigated disaster, but nor was it the resounding success I had dreamed of๐Ÿ™‚ Designing stuff is tricky, but fun. I got more yarn today and have begun Mark II.

Entry filed under: Hobbies. Tags: , .

April Fool’s Day extra post! Mothers’ Day visit

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sterlingsop  |  April 2, 2011 at 10:06 PM

    Wow I love that hat!!!

    And I laughed out loud at your American/English triple treble single double stitches. I got really muddled up when I first started crocheting, especially because all of the how-to videos on the internet are by Americans, and my first attempt at a chick ended up looking more like a duck because of the old double/single stitch thing. I’ve got it sussed now…I think!

    Reply
  • 2. soozling  |  April 3, 2011 at 8:26 AM

    The flowers are beautiful! It makes me want to learn how to crochet!๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 3. jannatwrites  |  April 5, 2011 at 4:21 AM

    I liked all of the items you’ve done, but when I saw the blue/green fluff yarn scarf, I said, “wow!” It’s absolutely gorgeous. If I had the time and patience, that one would make me want to crochet one๐Ÿ™‚

    Great work. I hope you continue to post more pictures!

    Reply
    • 4. knotrune  |  April 5, 2011 at 10:42 AM

      That is a very fast and easy scarf to make๐Ÿ™‚ You just need the right yarn. It’s only very basic crochet, chain (which you need for everything) and triple, with a big hook. Definitely a suitable project for a beginner. The only issue would be controlling two strands of yarn rather then one.

      Reply
  • 5. Little Things of Life  |  April 7, 2011 at 1:49 AM

    Your finished products are lovely — I enjoy crocheting and knitting scarves, also. Crocheting is more relaxing for me, since I don’t have to worry about dropping stitches(!) ha!

    There are so many pretty yarns — and combining two at once makes even more options — so we can stick with simple stitches and still come out with interesting creations. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I can see where the daffodil was much more tedious than the scarves, but you did a great job, and I know your mother will treasure your gift! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  • 6. katharinetrauger  |  April 8, 2011 at 3:29 AM

    Great job! Hard to believe you’re just starting out.
    For designing, I have used regular sewing patterns, crocheting in some interesting stitch pattern to fill in the space between seam lines, but not allowing any for the seam, since crochet does not ravel and does not need a seam allowance Have made some exciting jackets for children that way, and an adult-size vest.

    Reply
    • 7. knotrune  |  April 8, 2011 at 11:15 AM

      That’s a good idea, thanks๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts


