Crochet has improved my arthritic hands!

March 28, 2011 at 10:32 PM 6 comments

Great news! Since taking up crochet about a month ago my hands are now stronger and less painful, they move better, with an increased range of movement! This is amazing and fantastic!!😀😀😀

Maybe the hand exercises prescribed by physiotherapists would have been just as effective, or more so for all I know, but I’m just not someone who can sit and repeat tedious exercises day in day out. Even for a good reason. This is a flaw in my character, but at last I have found an alternative!

OK so crochet can be repetitive, a bit, but you get the pleasure of creating something, you can see it grow. And if you get bored of one project, you switch to another, then go back to it. I usually work on two or three different projects in a day, some small, tight and fiddly, others loose and fast.

I have made 3 and a half hats, 3 and a half scarves, a couple of little flowers and other twiddles, and the stuff I posted on already.

Watch out family and friends – if I keep going at this rate I shall have to be making gifts😉 Tim will not be a happy bunny if I fill the house up with crocheted goods and yarn!

And to think I was a bit concerned it might make my hands worse. My OT warned me against taking up knitting because of the potential for repetitive strain. I didn’t consult anyone about the crochet and I did wonder if it would be similar. So either crochet is better for you than knitting, or they were wrong about the knitting and my hands could have been better ages ago… Hmm, I wonder. Medics don’t know everything.

I get a lot of pleasure from learning new skills. I learned two new stitches today in the course of trying out a pattern for a daffodil🙂 and there is plenty more to learn. Even if I were to keep going at this rate, I’m sure there would still be more to learn in a year or more, but I shall have to go back to the thesis as soon as I am better. But I shall always have crochet as a hobby I am sure.

Wahay!!!😀 Happy happy😀 I love crochet!

Entry filed under: Health, Hobbies. Tags: , , , , , , .

Why Church? Some books need a warning!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sterlingsop  |  March 28, 2011 at 10:37 PM

    I’m a recent crochet convert too! I couldn’t get into it before I got ill but so much time on my hands and being stuck in the house with nothing to do meant I got restless. I more or less taught myself from videos on the tinterweb and from a couple of magazines and things, but I absolutely love it now.

    Glad to hear it’s helping your hands. I’d love to see some pics of your finished projects if you get time to post them🙂

    Reply
    • 2. knotrune  |  March 29, 2011 at 5:49 PM

      I plan to post pics soon, not least because it’s an easy post!😀

      Reply
  • 3. Fanny Agåker  |  March 29, 2011 at 3:12 PM

    That’s great!😀 Have you tried needlebinding? I wonder if that has the same effect…

    Reply
    • 4. knotrune  |  March 29, 2011 at 5:48 PM

      Years ago. I have two half finished socks, not a pair, where I stopped at the point where the heel needs turning because I couldn’t remember how. Now I’m not sure I could remember how to do it at all! But maybe I’ll dig them out. I’m sure I can find instruction on the web somewhere🙂

      Reply
  • 5. callydcfc  |  March 29, 2011 at 10:29 PM

    I cannot crochet. It took me long enough to learn to knit. I blame my left handedness. No matter what I do, I just can’t get it. I’ve even had my mum sit opposite me so I could follow her but it’s a mystery.

    And really really annoying because I can knit and I can sew but I can’t crochet.

    Reply
  • 6. astrawally  |  March 30, 2011 at 11:24 PM

    I can barely stitch my old jeans back together so I’m always with people with your ability to crochet. I really want to make a starsky cardigan, now that would be cool.
    Much Love
    Astra Wally

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Recent Posts


