Jigsaws

March 11, 2011 at 10:14 PM 1 comment

I like jigsaws. Real ones give me backache and it is a drag sorting out the bits, then a worry that the cat will discover the joys of chasing jigsaw pieces. So jigsaws on the computer became one of my time eaters.

I play puzzles on this site. Some are very easy, some are really hard. It’s a good range. The ads are a bit annoying, especially since they introduced ones which move😡 but I just move the window off the edge of my screen so I don’t have the horrible distraction in the corner of my eye.

Am I the only one who hates these so much I would be more likely to boycott the product than be tempted to buy it by such adverts?

Also you can’t tell how hard a puzzle is (number of pieces) until you click on it. I don’t like fiddly small pieces. I also find it disappointing if an interesting puzzle is too easy as I don’t get to spend so long with the picture. It would be nice if there was a way for the player to choose the level rather than the person who uploads the puzzle. And the pieces are rectangles, not proper jigsaw piece shaped. But hey, it’s free! And you can upload your own pix.

I sometimes wonder why I enjoy jigsaws. The imposition of order out of chaos is satisfying, yet I dislike tidying up, a more useful manifestation of the same impulse. Maybe jigsaws don’t require decisions. Do I keep the thing? Where can it live?

And there are exactly the right pieces to make the picture. Well, there are with computer puzzles. No problems with running out of space. Although sometimes you just can’t see where a bit should go.

So maybe it is an easy way to impose order, not like turning ideas into research into words into a thesis or anything.

I also enjoy spending time with a picture, exploring its colours and details in a way you don’t normally look at a picture. So I don’t like doing puzzles of pictures I dislike, but I will spend time with ones I might not pick at first as it can be interesting to spend time with different kinds of pictures.

Whatever the reason I like them for, if you like jigsaws too, check out the site. If you know any other free jigsaw sites, let me know🙂

Do you like jigsaws? Why or why not?

Entry filed under: Hobbies. Tags: .

Weekly Photo Challenge: Shadow Wild Plughole Hides

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. therealsharon  |  March 11, 2011 at 11:53 PM

    I haven’t done a Jigsaw Puzzle in forever but they are fun. I used to have a game on cd-rom where you could do puzzles and upload your own pictures. You could also pick how many pieces you wanted the puzzle to be. I don’t remember what happened to it, though.
    I also hate those moving ads and wish you could make them go away!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Recent Posts


