Pancakes with honey

March 8, 2011 at 11:00 PM 3 comments

I love pancakes🙂 mmm. My favourite topping is honey, for me that is pancake perfection. Tim made me pancakes today, which I enjoyed with honey and was happy. I was so happy to eat the pancakes that I did not remember to take a photo of them for the blog, but I don’t care, they tasted so good.

I try to have bee friendly flowers in my garden because I like honey so much. The worst flowers for bees are those double ones with petals where the middles should be. They can be pretty so I have a few, but mostly I go for the ones which are good for bees.

Bees are having a hard time at the moment. I don’t know what more I can do to help than have flowers for them to eat, but I hope they survive!

I always had honey on my pancakes, it was one of the standard things to put on pancakes when I was a child. But it is hardly ever an option at places where they sell pancakes, which is so disappointing. I’m sure maple syrup is lovely, especially fresh from the tree, but it is not the same as honey.

I guess part of it is down to the childhood memory.

But also the texture and flavour just work. And although the honey can drip out a little if I put too much on, it tends to behave much better than sugar, which just falls out.

I like savoury pancakes too, cheese and tuna for example. If honey is not an option, I’d often rather have a savoury one than a sweet one that isn’t honey.

What is your favourite pancake topping? Do you like trying new toppings or does it have to be that one always?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

Toilet Day! Describing the Middle Ages

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. astrawally  |  March 9, 2011 at 10:49 PM

    It has to nutella. I think it’s a boring choice but I have a massive sweet tooth so nutella is always my go to choice.
    Much Love
    Astra Wally

    Reply
  • 2. Caroline  |  March 10, 2011 at 9:19 PM

    Possibly a bit fancy but simple at the same time. I like to grate the rind of a lemon and put it in one batch or half a batch if you’re not being a fatty. And grate the rind of an orange in the other. And then basically make pancakes as you normally would, and sprinkle on sugar. Yum yum! Cant say i agree with the above post. I too have a sweet tooth, but hate nutella! Maybe that weird chocolate spread i brought back from amsterdam would have worked, forgot to try😦 xx

    Reply
  • 3. Lenore Diane  |  March 11, 2011 at 2:55 PM

    While visiting a friend of mine, her husband made pancakes. He topped them with natural maple syrup and cottage cheese. Yes! Cottage cheese. I’m here to tell you – it was delicious! We eat it at our house now, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Recent Posts


