Two months

February 28, 2011 at 10:45 PM 6 comments

As WordPress informs me in their prompt for today, I have now done this every day for two months. They ask how I feel. Worn out! Although to be fair, that is presumably not the fault of blogging but of other stuff going on in my life…🙂

How has my blog evolved? Well, it started out vague and amorphous, made a brief struggle to find a focus and then reverted to even blobbier vaguer amorphousness. In other words, it struggled, tried valiantly to evolve, gave up and flopped with relief back into the bacterial goop it came from, content to wallow round the blogosphere in its amoeba-like pointlessness for a while longer.

Have my posting strategies changed? Hmm, probably for the worse! When I started I was full of enthusiasm. I made notes, plans, long happy posts in the afternoon. Now it often gets left until last thing at night when I am too tired to say more than argle blargle bluuur mfff.

I had planned to make a backlog of sparkling posts saved in draft form which could be posted on days I lack inspiration, but I never yet found time so it is still a fight against last-minute-itis as with so much in my life.

As for changes I ought to implement, I think going for shorter posts might help. And FutureTom made a helpful suggestion to start some draft posts with a beginning which I can finish on those lacklustre days. I should try that.

What am I most proud of achieving? Well, sticking it out is the obvious response! I’m happy with my stats: 1621 views so far in that two months and 151 comments (although some of those were by me. I’d rather WordPress gave a stat that didn’t include your own comments, the way it doesn’t count your own hits!)

I am also happy my stats have picked back up from the all time low of 6 on Feb 10th to 52 so far today! I suspect I owe that more to joining stuff like the Random Blog Challenge than to my own efforts though.

I was surprised to find that I’m subscribed to 33 blogs too! Reading other blogs has been probably more a part of this foray into the blogosphere than my own contributions in a lot of ways. It has always been the interactivity of the web that appealed, right from the early nineties when I used to go on newsgroups a lot.

There are so many different people blogging from all over the world, I feel like I’m in a global community. People I’d never meet in any other way. It’s a strange kind of relationship, isn’t it? Do we discuss stuff here that we never would in person? I expect so simply because we might never get on to those topics. Even my sister has said she has found out stuff about me from here that she didn’t know! Not private stuff, just things you don’t get round to discussing.

I suppose if we sat together on a long flight we might end up discussing some of the things shared on our blogs, but we might not. Also I love the variety! From what not to crochet to cheese via loads of personal blogs. This post is getting too long to list all the blogs I read, but I shall make a note to post a list soon.

What are your thoughts on the blogosphere, blogging, blog reading?

Entry filed under: Writing. Tags: , .

Not Again Medieval Man Doll Shirt

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. classyrose  |  February 28, 2011 at 10:53 PM

    Hi Knotrune, It’s nice to see you’ve stuck with it and are seeing some results.

    Thanks for joining the challenge and for the shout-out.🙂

    Reply
  • 2. sterlingsop  |  March 1, 2011 at 1:15 PM

    Like you, I only really started blogging in earnest this year with the post a day challenge. Before that it was usually just a whingefest for me and I didn’t really have much to say apart from having a moan from time to time. But things have changed for me and I’m really glad I took the challenge. I have struggled for time (like you, sometimes it gets to just before bedtime and you think ARGH!!!! not posted!) and I’ve had spells where I’ve been stuck for inspiration and enthusiasm. Those are the days where my posts have been really short, or just a picture. I went away for the weekend just gone and managed to post from my phone so my record is intact (hurrah!) but I’m not sure the quality of what I’ve been writing has been consistent. I’m hoping the coming weeks will be better.
    Good luck with yours – I always enjoy reading what you write, whether short or long – and keep at it. Best wishes, Pam🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Caroline  |  March 1, 2011 at 5:12 PM

    Ahhhh, i got a mention in your blog! I’m blogfamous! I have never read blogs before or really been interested in it, until you started doing yours and i’m glad i did. Love you, sisters rule xx

    Reply
  • 4. corisel  |  March 1, 2011 at 7:38 PM

    Congratulations on making it to two months! I’ve been following your blog for most of that time. Whats interesting, is though I have never met you, I feel like I know you a little now and really look forward to the blogs. On the occasions when you’ve been feeling down, I’ve been really concerned about you and at the times you’ve had something to say, I’ve always learned something.

    When I started my own blogging journey I had no idea what to expect and didn’t think anyone would read it. But like you, I’ve become part of this global community now. I really enjoy the interactions and the insights into peoples lives. We all come from different parts of the worlds and have such different experiences behind us, but somehow we all connect and support each other. I makes me feel good about the world.🙂

    Reply
  • 5. knotrune  |  March 1, 2011 at 10:40 PM

    Aw guys, thanks for your lovely supportive comments🙂 they make it all worthwhile. Any time I feel like giving up the blog, I shall come back to this page and re-read these comments. I saw a blog sticker today that compared comments to hugs, well these certainly are. Thanks🙂

    Reply
  • 6. barb19  |  March 1, 2011 at 11:29 PM

    Congratulations on making it to two months; me too – although I am only doing the postaweek challenge!
    You are right – we have a wonderful blogging community here and I feel like I know my regular blogging buddies like they are real friends! From visiting new blogs daily, I have learned so much and everyone is eager to help if I run into a blogging problem!
    My blog seems to have taken over my life, so I have to get a grip!
    It’s great to meet you and thanks for commenting on my blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Recent Posts


