Runic Banana

February 12, 2011 at 11:43 PM 3 comments

As one of my topics is what I do as a runologist, here is a photo to illustrate one tiny aspect of my vocation:

Runic banana skin

Yes, I wrote runes on my banana. And took a photo of it. Actually I took several photos, but this was the best.

The runes say ‘runic banana skin’.

Both times ‘an’ occurs in ‘banana’ I have used bind-runes, a ligature where two runes are combined into one. The style of runes used are those used in medieval Norway, the kind I study most at the moment. Although none of them are dotted, this can be seen by the combination of the long-branch form of ‘b’ with the short twig forms of ‘n’ and ‘s’.

Perhaps this kind of runic play shows me to be as much a runatic as a runologist.

The term ‘runacy’ was coined by Terje Spurkland to mean runic literacy as opposed to other kinds of literacy, ie in the Roman script. Obviously one who practices runacy must be a runatic.

Terje has written an excellent book about Norwegian runes, which I wholeheartedly recommend.

I did write ‘banana’ on the banana in other forms of runic script, but they didn’t come out so well, so no photos there. I can read and write six forms of the futhark: Elder; Long-Branch; Short-Twig; Anglo-Saxon; Medieval Dotted and also tree runes, the runic code. I have not yet learned Staveless runes, they are tricky.

This type of self-referential inscription is a common sort of content for a runic text, especially on a casual throw-away object. We have for example, bones with ‘this is a bone’ scratched on them. The sort of bones which are food leftovers. So it may seem runacy, but I merely continue a grand runic tradition.

I did my MA dissertation on self-referential runic inscriptions. I made it into a book, which I probably ought to offer for sale, but I am running out of time to do all the links and still have this post count for Saturday. That is an excuse. If you really want to buy my book, say so in the comments and I will set it up. It’s with a PoD company, Blurb, so you could buy it from anywhere in the world!

Blurb are very good and it is a lot of fun to make a book. I will make a blog post about them one day.

Well, that’s enough runacy for now!

Entry filed under: Runology. Tags: , , , , .

Nothing Reading the Bible in Norwegian

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Xenia  |  July 9, 2012 at 6:32 AM

    Um, hi! ^^ I’m interested in Anglo-Saxon runes and I’ve been trying to find some place on the internet to learn how to write them, but… Ahaha, not only have I found bunches of different interpretations of them, but every runologist I’ve emailed still hasn’t responded… You said you could write in them, so could you give me a few tips or at least point me in the right direction? ^^ Haha, I’d really appreciate it!

    Reply
  • 2. knotrune  |  July 9, 2012 at 9:37 PM

    Hi Xenia, that sounds like a good idea for a post, so watch out for one in the next few days🙂
    If you want a book then the best intro to runes in general is Ray Page’s Reading the Past book http://www.amazon.co.uk/Runes-Reading-Past-R-Page/dp/0714180653/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1341865809&sr=8-2 which sadly seems to be out of print, but has plenty of cheap 2nd hand copies on Amazon. That’s quite short but very good and includes Anglo-Saxon runes. If you want something more involved he has also written a great text book just on the Anglo-Saxon runes http://www.amazon.co.uk/Introduction-English-Runes-R-I-Page/dp/085115946X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1341865809&sr=8-1

    Reply
    • 3. Xenia  |  July 10, 2012 at 4:44 AM

      ^^ Thank you so much! I wonder if that first one was the one I’d been paging through in eBooks, actually.😄 It’d be very funny if it were! But oh my gosh thank you so much. I’ll be sure to keep watching the site too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Recent Posts


