Farctate

February 10, 2011 at 8:16 PM 4 comments

I was just wondering what to blog about when I saw the prompt for the day: what is your favourite word?

I love words, so it’s always a tough one. But for me, ever since I found this word mouldering away in a rarely visited corner of the big old blue dictionary, there are not many to beat:

Farctate.

I even like the way the meaning was phrased and memorised that too.

Farctate = “filled to capacity; without vacuities”

It’s almost poetry.

I think it originated as a biological term referring to the state of plant cells, but I like to use it to refer to how I feel after I have eaten too much.

It is both the meaning and the sound, and the combination of sound and meaning, and also the obscurity of this word which I enjoy so much.

Although I would not object if it were to emerge from obscurity either. Especially if I could have some hand in its rehabilitation. I do try to use it and spread it. I have sort of adopted it. Please feel free to do the same😀

The prompt also asks for your least favourite word. That is even harder, but I am going to go with metastasise. It’s an awkward sounding word, with a wretched meaning.

Moving on, because I don’t want to linger on such a word, they also want to know a word I feel entirely neutral about.

I have to say, that is the hardest of all! I have just thought of lots of words and I can’t come up with any that I don’t feel anything at all about. Even little structural words like ‘of’ and ‘the’ I tend to like because they work hard without much notice.

So I’m going to give up on that.

But for an extra bonus I’m going to share some other words I like.

The Middle English word ‘drasty’ used by Chaucer in his ‘Canterbury Tales’ – he has one of the pilgrims say of the spoof doggerel his own character spouts “thy drasty rhyming is nat woorth a toord” (“your crappy rhyming is not worth a turd”).

My favourite word when I’m drunk, usually trotted out to prove I’m not really all that drunk, which as a result kind of misses the point, is:

Aequeosalinocalcalinoceraceoaluminosocupreovitriolic.

And then I offer to spell it. All 52 letters of it. And yes, that was typed by hand, from memory, not copied and pasted from an online dictionary or anything.

The fact that I did have to struggle a bit with remembering it all proves I’m not actually drunk right now, and further, that it has been a while since I was drunk enough to try and dredge it up. It’s gone a bit rusty. Which, if true, ought to add a ‘-ferro-‘ in there somewhere as well…

Oh yes, it is describing the spa waters at Bath, if you were wondering.

Hmm, I think that is enough words for today!

What is your favourite word? What do you think of mine?

Entry filed under: Random Ramblings. Tags: , , .

Impulse buy Nothing

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Caroline  |  February 11, 2011 at 6:33 AM

    I had a feeling this would be your favourite word! Iam nkt surprised. I dont know what my favourite word is. I’ll have to get back to you on that one. My favourite word in spanish is ayuntamiento (i think i have spelt that worg, the a in the middle looks wrong) it means town hall. Me and stubbs had many a fun hour back in school with that word and our spanish techer mr griffiths.

    Reply
  • 2. Caroline  |  February 11, 2011 at 6:34 AM

    On the i pad again, typing is hard, i miss hit keys. That should be not, not nkt! And teacher, not techer! Oops x

    Reply
  • 3. callydcfc  |  February 11, 2011 at 9:26 PM

    floccinaucinihilification – the act of finding something worthless. I learned that from a game show in the 80s.

    Reply
  • 4. Caroline  |  February 12, 2011 at 9:26 AM

    Ha ha, only just seen this one, that should be wrong not worg!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Recent Posts


