Yesterday’s Post Today

February 5, 2011 at 1:00 PM 1 comment

As I had to rush out yesterday before doing a proper post, I thought I’d post it today instead.

The quiz and curry night at my parents’ church was a lot of fun, so we were glad to have been reminded! And we won😀 by good teamwork. The gargled music questions were the hardest…

Anyway, back to the missing post. On Thursday we had another skive. It was a beautiful sunny day, so we went to Lathkill Dale.

Lathkill Dale

We didn’t pick the best route, however, as we had wanted to walk beside the water, but the path rapidly diverged and we plodded through muddy fields until we finally reached here:

Semicircular waterfall

This was a nice spot, but a little too breezy and chilly to stop for coffee from our flask. It might have been sunny, but it is February and still winter.

Sadly, that had been a mere brief diversion from the muddy fields and we gave up soon after, as I was defeated by a stile with a step just that little bit too high for my knees. I hate it when that happens. So we went back and had our coffee here on this bench:

Bench

There was some cute sheep in the field behind the bench. They were running around and playing. Black sheep with white tails, not sure what breed that is.

Sheep

Then we went to our favourite shop, Scarthin Books, for a hot chocolate and some yummy cake.

Hot chocolate

I only just remembered to take the picture while there was still any left!

Apple and Cinnamon cake - yummy!

In fact, this is not the cake I ate – I totally forgot to photograph that until every last crumb was gone! So this is another piece, just for the blog! You can see the nice big slice you get🙂 and of course, with having fruit in and all, it’s kind of almost healthy… plus we’d just been for a walk. Tim had coffee cake, which he thoroughly enjoyed.

Of course, while we were there, we could not resist a browse of the books. I was happy to snap up this little treasure for £3:

Needleweaving book

It’s older than me, just! I loved the pictures of stuff she’s made using this technique and thought it would be fun to have a go, now I have some time off. So yesterday I gathered some old fabric and wool, needle, scissors and card and made this:

My first attempt at needleweaving

It’s not finished yet. It’s supposed to be trees. I have done a bit more since then, so it looks a little better now, but it’s mostly just a trial run. I think it’s going to be fun and I have loads of ideas! At least I can do this with stuff I already have, so I get to use up materials rather than wanting to buy more🙂

I like having time to rest and try some hobbies. I know I need to get on with tedious tasks, like tidying up and catching up on admin, but I am still recuperating and could easily relapse, especially as I reckon stress was a factor in getting the blah virus, so I’m going to be nice to myself for at least another week.

Well, that’s two posts today! Although this is officially the one I should have done yesterday. Now I think I ought to leave the PC for a bit!

Entry filed under: Outings. Tags: , , , .

Discipline Joy

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. corisel  |  February 6, 2011 at 7:15 AM

    Fantastic. I love these little glimpses into your world – England looks so different from Sydney.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Recent Posts


