Recovering from Blahness

February 2, 2011 at 7:45 PM 1 comment

Today was the first day I didn’t feel blah for over 2 weeks. Well, to be fair, I have felt a bit blah some of the time, but not so much that I couldn’t get anything done.

I was lying in bed drinking my morning coffee (thanks Tim🙂 – having coffee brought to me when I wake up has to be one of the best things about being married) and looking at my little bedside bookcase, thinking about how it needed rearranging and planning how I would do it. When I finished the coffee, I actually felt like doing the task, right then and there – so I did!

Not mind blowing under normal circumstances, but that is seriously the first time since this blah virus that I have actually felt like doing a task and just got on with it.

It looks much better now and is more functional.

It needs regular rearrangement as its purpose is not the permanent storage of books, but the accessible temporary storage of books I am currently reading in bed, to avoid big piles of books blocking my bedside cabinet. It is generally very effective at this (thanks Dad for putting it up) but a pile has managed to build up recently due to the blah. Removing that is the next step.

This was a good start to a good day, as I managed to get a few more little things done. I am officially recuperating still, so I have no plans to do anything stressful this week, in case of relapse.

So then I was at a loose end. I didn’t feel ill enough to want to just sit in bed reading, my main activity during the blah. And I didn’t want to browse the web as I have noticed it seems to make me feel more blah lately. (Hmm, I wonder why? Bright monitor? Humming PC? Wireless hub? Concentrating?)

So I thought I might as well try a hobby. I have been wanting to get back to making stuff for ages, but have had to work on the thesis too much, and if not thesis I wanted to do creative writing. But I am a bit off writing at the moment. The blog is quite enough for now.

It is a very long time since I did any hand sewing. I used to love it, but with arthritis in my hands it has been problematic. Not so much the sewing, but holding the fabric with my left hand. But I have a little project I want to work on, it’s a treat for having worked so hard lately and something to do as I convalesce during my pause.

I’m not going to say what it is right now, as it is still early stages. But it involves hand sewing, as small as possible.

I always used to be able to sew tiny stitches, just like writing very small. I could write so small I fitted 5 lines to a single line of paper, using a very fine biro! But I was not sure I could still do it, so I tried a sample.

I can still do it🙂 it made me very happy to be able to make tiny neat stitches even with such distorted hands. That’s why I dread the thought of a hand operation, in case I lost the delicate control.

Anyway, this post is not long enough and has been quite rambling and unfocussed. I am only two hits off 1000 views on this blog! So thanks for reading😀

Entry filed under: disorganisation, Health, Random Ramblings. Tags: .

Getting arthritis at age 20 Rearranging things

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Caroline  |  February 2, 2011 at 8:53 PM

    Glad to hear you are feeling better. I hope the improvement continues. Well done for managing some organisation too xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Recent Posts


