Disorganisation will rule a little longer

January 29, 2011 at 1:09 PM 2 comments

Well, today is my day to blog about being disorganised. Preferably about my battle against this tendency and what tactics work for me. But I am off out soon to visit my family, so I don’t have time to either remedy my disorganisation or even think about it!

In fact, if I was truly organised I would not be doing this blog in my dressing gown an hour before I need to be out the door…

But then if I was organised things would be far more different than that.

All I can say is that now I have paused my PhD I hope to have more time to devote to becoming organised, which should be good. Watch this space! If there is nothing good next Saturday, then I shall be feeling bad, either through guilt or illness…

I plan to make a plan!

It will be on my to do list when I re-instate that. That has been paused this week as well, as I have been trying to recover from the Blah virus.

So, disorganisation still rules in this little (messy) corner of the blogosphere.

But at least I am still posting!

I think half the problem is that I am not all that bothered by my untidiness. If it gets bad it bothers me, but at the moment I find it bearable. The trouble is, Tim doesn’t. Which does bother me.

But they say you can’t sort out such a major issue through someone else’s preferences, it has to come from within. I somehow have to make myself want to be tidier, not just to make him happy, but with a stronger motivation.

I think I can see that. For one thing, it hasn’t quite worked, although I have to say, I have improved my tidiness since getting married. He just doesn’t see the improvement, as it is still below his minimum acceptable standard. That’s another problem…

So I’m left feeling slightly resentful that instead of seeing my effort and appreciating it, he still calls our home a pigsty and worse. Which, I can tell you, is most de-motivational!

So I think the first step is to somehow make myself want to improve.

At the moment, I just want to rest, relax and recover. Which is important in getting over illness, so I shan’t fret yet. But it might be time to have a look on Amazon for a helpful book that I can read as I rest.

Anyway, I’d better go and get up!

What about you? Do you find other people’s motivation enough for you, or does it have to come from within?

Entry filed under: disorganisation. Tags: .

Pausing my life What is my Purpose?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. susanthecoach  |  January 30, 2011 at 1:20 PM

    I’ve always subscribed to the theory that a clean desk means a dirty mind! And I’ve done entire days in my dressing gown and still got loads done so don’t stress about it, I’m sure most people are a lot more disorganised than they let on🙂
    I’ve always had a dream about waking up one morning and finding I’ve turned into a Martha Stewart clone but I’m not holding my breath!

    Reply
  • 2. jannatwrites  |  January 30, 2011 at 7:11 PM

    My motivation has to be mine. As soon as someone else pushes me to do something, I tend to get stubborn and do the exact opposite (sometimes without even realizing it until after the fact.)

    I hope you are able to find motivation to be more organized, or that you and your husband can come to a compromise!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2011
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Recent Posts


