A Week of Orderly Blogging

January 19, 2011 at 8:08 PM 4 comments

I have managed my first week of non-blurry blogging.

I found it easier than complete randomness, although a couple of the days were hard when I wasn’t inspired by my topics.

I do plan to increase the number of pre-drafted posts so I have at least one in each category in reserve for those days when I just can’t face any more words.

Like yesterday.

Fortunately I had written that post on Sunday, so when I got in I could simply upload it. Except it didn’t appear. I am sad enough that I like to watch my post arrive on the PostADay tag site. But this one just didn’t show, even after a couple of refreshes.

I was annoyed, because I was tired and didn’t feel like sorting out a problem.

I had a feeling what was wrong – the date attached to the post was from the day I wrote it, not the day I posted it.

I changed the date, but that didn’t take. It might have if I’d done it before I posted. I hope so anyway, but I shall probably find out next time I use a pre-drafted post. Unless I schedule it to post automatically.

I had to copy it, delete it and repost it; then it showed up.

I am starting to wonder if it’s a bit sad, this obsession with blogging, stats, posting every day and all.

The other day I caught myself saying to Tim ‘I had another blog dream last night.’ Now that does worry me. It’s at least one blog dream too many…

It’s not just my own blog of course. Hanging around WordPress and playing PostADay has got me reading loads of new blogs.

Once I’ve posted I go see what other people are blogging about at the same time. Some I like or subscribe to. Then each morning I check my stats and read my subscriptions as I eat my porridge.

It’s fun, but is it starting to take over?

I might try to make shorter posts some days. And I might try to limit the amount of time I spend reading blogs. Three hours is plenty, right? I hope I’m kidding… I think I might be shocked if I did a timesheet…๐Ÿ˜€ There are some good blogs out there!

In other news, I think I shall add Hobbies to Fridays, so it will be Outings / Hobbies. I don’t always get out much… not that I’m doing hobbies much right now either, as my main focus is the upgrade (and blogging…) but I can mention things I have made in the past.

Or even things I want to make in the future.

I think it’s because of feeling I have to reserve most of my energy for thesis writing, but I really have the urge to do some craft! It will probably wear off when I actually have a little time for it. Ho hum.

Well, that’s it for today. What do you think about orderly vs random blogging? Have you preferred my blog this last week with the new system, or did you prefer the week before? And should I be worried about the blog dreams? (I prefer them to dreams about scary lifts (elevators), but that’s another post…)

Entry filed under: Random Ramblings. Tags: .

How I lost weight sustainably Runological Time Travel

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Caroline  |  January 19, 2011 at 9:29 PM

    Oooooh, cant wait for your blog about dreams! No you shouldn’t be worried about the blog dream, blogging is something relatively new and your into it that is all. I think i like the organisation of your blogging, but then i like organisation. I would sayyou have relative flexibility with it. I am enjoying reading your blog muchly!!!!!!! Xxxxxx

    Reply
  • 2. kolembo  |  January 20, 2011 at 1:18 AM

    Excellent. I reckon you can’t be too random, and you can’t be too rigid. I like the topics because I can find people from there, and then the subsequent blog surfing, which takes you everywhere anyway, feels abit more purposeful and less chaotic.

    Reply
  • 3. corisel  |  January 20, 2011 at 6:42 AM

    I can’t really comment on what it was like before, because I only started reading from when you posted about blurry blogging. I have to say, I like it now, and the structure means I know what to look forward to – I’m really interested to see your next entry about being a runeologist.

    I’ve become similarly obsessed and spend way too much time each day reading blogs, reading comments, looking at stats etc. Plus I’ve started a teaching blog and a photoblog.

    I realised today that this is just unsustainable and I’m going to have to cut back somewhere. I might need some sort of routine or limit – like no more than half an hour a day on blogging. Decisions decisions.

    Anyway, I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up with as a solution!๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • 4. knotrune  |  January 20, 2011 at 4:25 PM

      It’s good to see it seems to be working, I’ll keep the system up๐Ÿ™‚

      I’m glad I’m not the only one to catch the overblogging bug! I’m also looking forward to finding a solution… if I do I shall certainly share.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2011
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Recent Posts


