Finding God

January 16, 2011 at 2:48 PM 6 comments

So today I have to blog about God. Because I said I would and I try to stick to stuff I’ve said I’ll do. Not as binding as a promise, which I have always felt are important. But even if I don’t always manage what I intend to do, I do try.

I know where good intentions are supposed to lead, but surely they are better than bad intentions!

Why is this so hard to do? I love God, it should be easy to write about what I love.

The thing is, God is important and I don’t want to get it wrong.

But I’m not going to let that stop me.

Nonetheless, I really have no idea where to start.

People say start at the beginning, but that’s not always the best place to start. It makes for a more exciting novel, or film, to be plunged into the middle of the action and have to work out what’s going on.

I haven’t always known God. And I’m not sure how well I know Him now. I’m sure any atheists reading this think I’m mad to claim to even know Him a bit. If there are any still reading by this point!

If you don’t believe in God, you can do what you want. There’s no point anyway. If this is all there is, it signifies nothing.

But if there is a God, a Creator, who made me, then I need to know why. Why make me? What am I for? What is the point?

But where do you start to look for God?

Some people go off to Tibet. Others look inside themselves.

But I went to Sunday school as a kid, so I remembered that God said ‘seek and you shall find, knock and I will open the door.’

And it was true.

There is more to it than that of course. I was in a place where I realised I really needed God, that my life really was pointless without Him. I was finally prepared to give up anything He wanted me to. Even runology. Even soft toilet paper!

Because God was the only thing that really mattered, when it came down to it.

And still is.

And, maybe because He loves me, He didn’t ask me give up runology or soft toilet paper🙂

Of course, that’s not the whole story, but it’s a long story and will continue next week. And for the rest of my life.

What about you? Do you know God? Or do you not feel the need for God? Or what?

Entry filed under: God. Tags: , , .

I like Planning Lack of Inspiration

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bwinwnbwi  |  January 16, 2011 at 4:51 PM

    Nice work! “God is important so I don’t want to get it wrong”–very nice. What about you? Well, sometime in the 80’s I started to get to know God and I’ve had a relationship ever since–a relationship that is sometimes warm (a few times hot), and sometimes cool. More importantly, though, just because it took me 30 + years to become aware of this relationship that doesn’t mean that God didn’t exist for me before that time. I spent, what I will call my formative years, trying to suppress the haunting emptiness that “beckoned.” In that respect, I guess you could say that I have always had a relationship with God, sometimes distant, sometimes close, but always consequential. My journey has not been easy. I guess you could say that what I write in my blog here at postaday2011 is a history of that journey. I am sure will be happy to know that soft toilet paper or runology has nothing to do with the answer to the question “why” (but, on the other hand, in a very indirect way, maybe it does). Take care my friend.

    Reply
  • 2. Angel  |  January 17, 2011 at 9:56 PM

    Yes I know God, and I love Him because He loved me first. I blogged about faith today as well.

    Reply
  • 3. Fanny Agåker  |  January 18, 2011 at 9:41 AM

    I thought I was an atheist all throughout my childhood, probably because I was brought up in an atheist home. When the time came for confimation I thought that it would be interesting to join the group, just so that I could listen, think and perhaps have interesting discussions with others about religion. After all, one didn’t have to go through with the confirmation if it didn’t feel right! And I wasn’t planning on completing it, unless I suddenly found myself having faith.

    Now, the whole thing wasn’t really what I hoped for. The rest of the kids in the group couldn’t care less about religion, they were just there because they wanted to get gifts at the end, or because their parents wanted them to be confirmed. So no, I didn’t find myself in any interesting discussions. But I listened, and thought about things. And to my own surprise, I found myself believing in God. So I went through with the confirmation, and since then I have had no problem calling myself a Christian.

    The thing is, a whole lot of others would probably disagree to me being a Christian! My beliefs aren’t always compatible with what the Church (any church!) teaches, and what is generally though of as Christian ideology. I have faith, yes. But I base my beliefs on my own experiences and thoughts, rather than the teachings of others (although I definitely listen to others as well and seriously take their ideas into consideration!). And I don’t think that Christ is the only way to salvation. Which I guess actually disqualifies me as a Christian in most people’s eyes. But that doesn’t really matter to me, I don’t need to label my faith. =)

    Reply
  • 4. jannatwrites  |  January 22, 2011 at 4:32 AM

    After reading the comment you left on my blog and then checking out this post, I think were are of similar mind sets.

    I’ll be back Sunday for the next installment of God in Your Life🙂

    Reply
  • 5. sterlingsop  |  January 22, 2011 at 10:39 AM

    I like your post – you are honest and humble and I like that. Thank you for your thoughts.

    Reply
  • 6. angie  |  January 25, 2011 at 5:47 PM

    I think you are very brave to mention religion at all. I also wonder what I am here for sometimes. I try to be a good follower of Jesus, to act as he said we should. If everybody in the world did so, wouldn’t it be a much better and safer place?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2011
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Recent Posts


