The Wild Plughole

January 14, 2011 at 8:03 PM 5 comments

No, it’s not another random post, there is actually a wild plughole in the middle of Derbyshire.

The Wild Plughole

It can be found here (just zoom out for a wider view).

This is my day to blog about outings. But in this gloomy winter weather, I felt more like going through my old photos and finding something summery. I thought this might be a bit of fun. Plus there were only about 150 photos to choose between, unlike some places I have thousands of!

I’m not feeling decisive enough to plough through that many pictures selecting the best ones for a post.

Plus who can resist wild plugholes?😀

The river had been blocked and widened to make a swimming pool, evidently long ago as it looks far too shallow now.

Swim at your own risk (if you're under 2 foot tall...)

But it’s a lovely spot.

Scenic pool

If it was a bit deeper I’d love to swim there! But it’s nice to visit.

And to photograph.

Tim shoots the wild plughole

I could watch that plughole for ages, it’s hypnotic. I plan to go back and take some video this summer.

And what could be better than one wild plughole?

Two Wild Plugholes!

Entry filed under: Outings. Tags: , , .

Becoming A Runologist I like Planning

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. corisel  |  January 14, 2011 at 9:34 PM

    I had no idea such things existed.🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Caroline  |  January 15, 2011 at 8:39 AM

    I would like to see these plugholes they look quite ‘naughty’ and anticful! Maybe we could on a family outing one day? How far away are they? xx

    Reply
    • 3. knotrune  |  January 15, 2011 at 10:40 AM

      Hi sis, nice to see you on my blog🙂
      They are in reach, near Youlgrave. Possible for a day out where we meet up and eat in Buxton again if you fancy?
      They are extremely naughty🙂 and there is bound to be some naughty moss and lichen around too😉

      Reply
      • 4. Caroline  |  January 15, 2011 at 12:05 PM

        Sounds good to me!!!!!!!! I hope we see some trumpety lichens!

      • 5. knotrune  |  January 15, 2011 at 12:07 PM

        Hey – I should do a post about trumpety lichens one day!!😀

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2011
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Recent Posts


