Blurry Blog Syndrome

January 11, 2011 at 7:49 PM 8 comments

I have realised that I have a bad case of Blurry Blog Syndrome.

I don’t think it’s fatal, especially as I have caught it early. But the cure is not easy.

This blog lacks focus. As in, it has none whatsoever. It is all over the place, as you may have noticed, unless this is the first of my posts you are reading.

Aaaaaargh!

I knew it would be, because I never bothered to give it a focus.

I knew that could be an issue for readers, but I didn’t know how hard it would make it to write. I thought in fact that it would make it easier to write if I can just write about anything! No. It doesn’t.

I have a list of things I could blog about, which I can look at when this beginning-to-be-dreaded time comes round every day. It helps, a bit, but I don’t always feel like writing about those things.

In fact I have 3 lists, all in different places. I think I mentioned somewhere that I am not the most organised… although I am trying to improve.

On the PostADay site the initiative has begun to get a blog buddy. I read through some of the comments. Some of the blogs there have a focus, their authors can confidently say what they blog about. Others are just, oh I blog about my life and, you know, stuff.

At the moment I don’t think I’m even as focussed as that second group!

So what is the cure?

I suppose I have two options. Find a focus or accept having a blurry blog.

Option two still has some appeal, despite my problems with it. Reasons for this include: I am lazy and can’t be arsed to fix it; I like the thought that I can blog about anything I want to at any time; err… that seems to be all the reasons.

For option one I would have some decision making to to do. I definitely remember mentioning I don’t find that easy! And neither of my tried and true decision-making techniques (TM) can help!

I suppose the root of the problem is that in choosing to include something you also choose to exclude other stuff.

And, as my darling Tim would emphatically agree, I’m not a big fan of getting rid of stuff!

So if I want to fix it I need a plan.

One plan that might work is allocating subjects to days and having one day a week for random stuff. That has some appeal as it gives structure and focus while still giving plenty of room for a wide range.

It also helps readers: if you are interested only in the stuff I write about on Fridays for example, you know to only bother to check my blog on… actually Saturday I suppose because I tend to post in the evening.

Right! Good! We have a plan! I shall consider what I have blogged about so far, what I still want to blog about and what I might want to blog about in the future (this is supposed to go a year – eek!😮 and summer might inspire different stuff, like the garden, which is just horrible in the winter) and allocate days of the week to different subjects, with one being for random stuff.

I like having a plan. It’s like I’ve been to the chemist and picked up a remedy I hope will solve my problem. Sometimes they do, sometimes they don’t. But you feel so hopeful!

I’ll try and get the list for tomorrow, but it might take a bit longer than that to come up with.

Suggestions, as always, welcome!

Entry filed under: disorganisation. Tags: .

Motivation So here’s the plan!

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. corisel  |  January 11, 2011 at 9:41 PM

    Hi, The title of your blog caught my eye when I was looking at what others were writing in postaday. I have the same problem with my blog and am asking myself the same questions. I like your idea of a daily structure – might try it as well. The other thing I’ve started to do is create new blogs for specific topics. My WordPress is for my random ramblings on more personal topics, but as well as that I’ve started a photoblog and a blog for my professional life. Both outside WordPress sadly as otherwise I’d have to pay.

    Reply
    • 2. corisel  |  January 11, 2011 at 9:49 PM

      …and now that I’ve read through a few more of your posts, I really don’t think you need to worry about it being blurry. I enjoyed reading it – you’re doing fine.🙂

      Reply
      • 3. knotrune  |  January 11, 2011 at 11:26 PM

        Thanks😀

    • 4. knotrune  |  January 11, 2011 at 11:26 PM

      What do you mean pay? You can have more than one blog with WordPress. Under ‘my blogs’ register a new blog. You only need to give it a unique name, it doesn’t have to have to have a new user. My cat has a blog too🙂

      Reply
      • 5. corisel  |  January 12, 2011 at 11:18 AM

        When I tried to set up a new blog with WordPress, after attempting to give it a unique name, the site popped up a message saying I would have to subscribe. Maybe I did something wrong. Oh well, I might try again.🙂

  • 6. Caroline  |  January 15, 2011 at 8:50 AM

    I hate making decisions too. I am not a decision maker, it is a great stumbling block in my career path! I consider it a huge decision and the limit of my decision making comfortabilities deciding whether a plan should be printed on A4 or A3 to be sent to a customer!

    Reply
    • 7. knotrune  |  January 15, 2011 at 10:41 AM

      Hmm, surely A4 is easier both to print and to handle, unless the plan is extremely large and complicated🙂

      Reply
      • 8. Caroline  |  January 15, 2011 at 12:08 PM

        I always try to print them on A4 but some are big and complicated and require A3 and then some customers prefer them on A3. To be honest its not a huge decision, but like i said i dont like making decisions, this is about my limit!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2011
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Recent Posts


