The Importance of Skiving

January 6, 2011 at 11:57 PM 4 comments

We skived this afternoon, it was great!

For those of my readers who didn’t grow up in the Midlands of England, or whatever the dialectal range of the word is, skiving is taking time off without permission, usually from school. Since neither of us technically need permission to take time, it is a misuse of the word, but I don’t care.

I never actually skived off school ,unless you count deliberately scheduling dental appointments to get out of sport.

But the occasional afternoon off can do the world of good.

I did get some work done this morning, a bit of reading plus 259 first draft words on my theory that not all stavechurch graffiti was made by builders.

Then we went out and we both feel a lot better for it.

We went to Cromford, one of our favourite places. First we had a walk along the canal.

Cromford Canal

Then we stopped here:

Cafe at Cromford Mill

For some delicious soup. The mushroom and tarragon was the most mushroomy soup I think I’ve ever tasted and very full of tiny bits of mushroom – delicious! The bread was gorgeous too, warm and seedy and plenty of it. It tasted homemade, so I asked and it was.

Mushroom and Tarragon Soup

They have a good menu of homemade food with plenty of vegetarian options, cakes and hot drinks. I’m not vegetarian myself, but it’s good to have the option. Tim enjoyed his mocha and cake. Well worth a visit.

Tim was quite grumpy when we started.

Tim being grumpy

But he had cheered up by the time we went to Scarthin Books, our favourite place.

Tim reading at Scarthin Books

They have a cafe too, which is all vegetarian and vegan. I had a nice latte there and Tim a hot chocolate.

We each got a second hand book we liked, Tim his usual preference of a slim volume of poetry, me a picture book about Vikings in art.

So it was good to get out.

Mind you, it wore off by the end of the day and he was just as grumpy as ever, but he has a lot of stress at the moment and skiving is not a magic cure!

I’m running out of time now, I only have four minutes left to get this posted today! So I’ll finish there, but tomorrow I might post more pictures of the wonderful Scarthin Books.

Any comments about skiving? Bookshops? Soup? Anything?

Entry filed under: Outings. Tags: , , , , , , .

Title trouble Scarthin Books

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kat  |  January 7, 2011 at 10:33 AM

    Sounds like a good skive!

    It’s Kat from the Social Media session here – I found your blog through Pebbles’ blog. The rats think Pebble is very clever for getting you to maintain a blog for her.

    Reply
    • 2. knotrune  |  January 7, 2011 at 11:27 AM

      Hi! Glad you dropped by🙂
      Pebble likes having a blog. She wonders why nobody seems to believe she writes it herself…😉 She wants me to take a photo of her actually typing, but it is not easy to catch her at it!

      Reply
  • 3. Kat  |  January 7, 2011 at 7:09 PM

    Rowan is only too happy to help me type, but unfortunately this seems to consist of stomping all over the keyboard and I live in fear of her sitting on the delete key!

    You should def get a photo of Pebble typing🙂 Be sneaky!

    Reply
    • 4. knotrune  |  January 7, 2011 at 9:45 PM

      Odd, I visited your blog earlier today and was going to comment, but got distracted. Now I come to try again and your blog is hiding!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2011
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Recent Posts


