Brain Pummelling

January 3, 2011 at 8:16 PM 4 comments

After a day of pummelling my poor old brain into trying to write about runic inscriptions of vernacular prayers in stavechurches and reading about the construction of Medieval sermons, I now have to pummel it again into writing something in my blog.

This is harder than I expected! I find it easy to write in my journal, not that I do that every day, but the difference is that nobody is going to read that, so I just write whatever I feel like, even if it’s just what I had for dinner, or that the cat is sitting on my feet.

She’s not, she’s curled up on my hangarok by the wardrobe.

Freewriting like that is a good habit to get into, and helps me warm up for thesis writing. Or novel writing, but that is very much on the back burner at the moment as I have an impending deadline.

Don’t you just love deadlines? Nothing like them for the scary kind of motivation!

I generally prefer the happy kind of motivation, when you do stuff because you want to. But then it would probably take twice as long to get a PhD…

Which would be fine by me actually, but the university needs the throughput, so it’s nose to the grindstone.

I think I need some chocolate.

Well, that seems to be all I’ve got today! Nothing wrong with a short post, I hope.

Today’s question: what do you prefer, scary motivation like deadlines or happy motivation? Or simply the discipline of plodding along and keeping up to targets. Can you be as productive without the occasional burst of adrenaline?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Day Two Why blog?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. callydcfc  |  January 3, 2011 at 11:10 PM

    I’m a plodder. I try to hit my target every day. I design complicated spreadsheets to tell me what I need to do. They always fail miserably and I end up with a simpler one that actually works.

    Reply
    • 2. knotrune  |  January 4, 2011 at 3:49 PM

      At least you have something that works! Spreadsheets are a useful tool which I need to investigate more.

      Reply
  • 3. Fanny Agåker  |  January 4, 2011 at 7:20 AM

    “Don’t you just love deadlines? Nothing like them for the scary kind of motivation!”

    Haha…ha…ha…hum…. not really…😉

    Reply
    • 4. knotrune  |  January 4, 2011 at 3:52 PM

      Yeah, I don’t actually love them either. More like the opposite…🙂 but I am forced to acknowledge, grudgingly, that they can be useful.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2011
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Recent Posts


