Day Two

January 2, 2011 at 7:23 PM 5 comments

It’s only day two and my motivation is flagging as I can’t think what to write about. It doesn’t help that I feel tired, despite it being a four cup of coffee day and having had some Piano Chocolate Pudding.

Yes, I finally cracked open the last of my supplies of this wondrously fine Norwegian dessert on New Year’s Eve and have one last portion waiting for me in the fridge. I wish I could get it here, but in its old tetrahedral packaging which was so much easier to open.

The suggested topic for the day is what my best accomplishment in 2010 was, so I might as well write about that.

It would have to be the Runic Symposium at which I presented my paper and on the field trip for which my second knotted runic inscription was verified.

Acquiring a cat is not exactly an accomplishment, although Pebble coming to live with us was the nicest thing that happened.

I did my year end review yesterday. I didn’t do too badly at achieving my goals last year. The most surprising was managing to continue my list system for a whole year. That was part of my attempt to become more organised.

It’s a good system and quite easy. I got it from this very useful site on novel writing, but I can’t remember which issue of the e-zine it was in. There’s loads of good advice there about being organised and writing in general, so it’s worth a look if you’re at a loose end.

The system basically starts by picking a few big important goals for the year. Then you think about how you can achieve those goals, breaking them down into tasks which can be achieved in smaller blocks of time. Then you allocate goals for the quarter, then for the month, the week and the day.

This means you don’t lost sight of the big goals among the minutiae that usually clutter up to do lists.

So for the goal of working on my thesis I can break that down and say that in the first quarter I need to finish writing my upgrade portfolio. It needs to be 12k and I have 4k done to second draft. I need another 4k in January then, which works out at 1k a week. I also need to factor in the other work required for it, such as reading, planning and so on, but that gives me some achievable, measurable goals to aim for and monitor whether I am on track or not.

Thus my to do list has on it both tasks which help towards my big goals and small tasks such as change the cat litter.

I just keep it in a word processing file. A set of lists, which I can cross things off. Tasks I don’t get to are added to the new list, which I usually make as my first task of the morning, although some really organised people prefer to do the next day’s list as their last task of the day.

It’s not foolproof, as I still manage to forget things, but not nearly as much as I used to.

I may still be somewhat disorganised, but it’s a big improvement from extremely disorganised!

What about you? Best achievement? Organisational tips? New Year Resolutions? I will reply to comments🙂

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Shiny new blog! Brain Pummelling

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tim Jones  |  January 2, 2011 at 8:02 PM

    One of my best achievements was doing the Eastwood writers website. Also I managed to keep going through another year in my business.

    Reply
    • 2. knotrune  |  January 2, 2011 at 10:13 PM

      Those are good achievements🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Fanny  |  January 3, 2011 at 12:18 PM

    Achievements… I finished my master’s thesis! Yay! And I went to the Runic symposium and presented my first article, which was great fun! And… I got married! I’m not sure that can be counted as an achievement but I’d feel stupid leaving it out of a summary of 2010.😀

    And oh, speaking of organisational tips, I have finally come to terms with my housework/housecleaning anxiety! Me and my darling husband started making lists, one for weeks and one for months. Everthing that needs to be done in each time frame is put as a separate post (for example “vacuuming downstairs” or “cleaning the upper bathroom”) and when one of us completes a task we tick it off the list. Incredibly simple but it has helped me inmensely in breaking down the large concept of “housework” into smaller steps. So for this year we have also introduced the half-a-year list, with tasks that needs to be done more seldom, and I hope we’ll be able to keep it up!

    Reply
    • 4. knotrune  |  January 3, 2011 at 7:52 PM

      I’d say getting married was certainly an achievement, especially if you organise your own wedding. Staying married, though, that’s the real challenge! And yay for theses and runicness🙂

      Excellent housework system, you sound way more organised than me. Small steps are good. I like having small tasks on a list, it feels good to tick things off.

      Reply
      • 5. Fanny Agåker  |  January 4, 2011 at 7:12 AM

        Yeah it’s a simple system that I’d recommend to anyone – mostly because of how calming it is to know that the posts which are already ticked off can be left until next week, no need to even think about it for now! =)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2011
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Recent Posts


