Shiny new blog!

January 1, 2011 at 6:16 PM 2 comments

Happy New Year!

Happy new blog.

One of my new year resolutions is to start blogging more.

When I was a kid, I would resolve every year to write a diary. I usually got one for Christmas. Not one of those made it past the first week of January…

I hope this blog will be different!

I might manage a bit better now I’m a grownup. I hope so. But it is a risk starting this today. The only reason I did was that I wanted to join the WordPress PostADay challenge. I like a fun challenge. Like NaNoWriMo, which I have done twice now. And won both times, first with a novel, then with my thesis.

Which does not mean to say I finished either project, that’s not what nano is about. But at least I wrote lots of words!

The only way I managed to get more written in a diary was to start some time after January and not to worry about writing every day. The first diary I managed to write more than one week of was 1991 when my Dad gave me a nice big diary on the 26th of March.

That was an interesting year as well, I am glad I have a record of it.

But as for this blog, I have resolved to write it every day, so we shall see if I can keep to that!

I have been reading about how to make a good blog, in preparation for starting one. The best advice is to have some kind of focus. But I can’t decide what to focus on. So I shall just ignore that for now and see if it finds a focus.

They also say not just to talk about yourself, as nobody will be interested in that! Except perhaps your Mum. (Hi Mum!)

Hmm, I’m not doing too well so far.

At least I have managed to keep the one about having short paragraphs, no more than 3 lines. Long paragraphs are boring to read on the web. Fine in print, bad on a blog.

1 ouf 3 ain’t too bad…

Hang on though – I just looked at the preview and some of the paragraphs that are 3 lines where I’m writing in the dashboard are four lines on the actual blog! So I broke that too.

Bummer.

Oh well, welcome to my rubbish blog!

Hopefully I will get better. That is one good reason to start badly – things can only get better! Rule one of how to improve – be really rubbish to start with. Then even if you’re a bit rubbish by the end at least you improved.

Another rule was not to have really long posts, so I’m going to stop there. Then I might still have something to say tomorrow. And the next day. And so on…

They also say to finish with a question, to encourage reader interaction and fish for comments. I can’t think of one. Can you?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Day Two

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ruarigh  |  January 1, 2011 at 10:13 PM

    Good luck and I look forward to reading your thoughts on the knotty problem of runes.

    Reply
  • 2. Fanny Agåker  |  January 2, 2011 at 11:37 AM

    Good luck with the blog and a Happy New Year from a swedish friend! =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2011
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Recent Posts


